Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 02:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Default Random deaths

Put together my system over a month ago:

E8400 E0 stepping(OC'd to 4GHz - 450FSB 1.275vcore, 37C at full load)
P5Q Pro
G.Skill 2x2GB PC2-8000 DDR2
BFG GTX280
Corsair HX620
WD Caviar Black 640GB HDD

And had it running smoothly. Got it up to 4GHz stable (24 hrs on Orthos, another 24 with Prime95) and thought that was that. Two days later, during some minor desktop hopping between an Excel spreadsheet and Firefox I got a blue screen saying something to the effect of "If this is your first time seeing this screen, don't sweat it, but if you see it again, you've got a problem" I never saw that screen again.

I was away from my computer for the entire month of February and only returned to it today. Fired it up this morning and within only a few minutes the screen went blank, but the fans were still running. I thought it might be a monitor issue, fiddled with the connections and rebooted. This time everything ran fine while I was testing out a new set of headphones when the screen went blank again and the music began stuttering ... doesn't seem like the monitor's the issue.

So I've dropped the FSB to 425 and am running an Orthos blended test...15 minutes in and so far so good. Just wondering if this type of crash is symptomatic of anything specific or I'm doomed to screw around with every component until I isolate the cause of death.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 04:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Can you retrieve any details from the Windows system logs about the Bluescreen? Go into Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Event Viewer, and poke around the System logs for any "Error" log entries.

It may be a driver issue but the way you said your screen turns blank makes me think it's either GPU or memory at fault. I'll focus especially on the memory (both system and GPU) if your screen goes crazy colours before going blank. Try MemTest86+ and FurMark stability tests.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 05:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Couldn't find anything significant in the error logs.

I just ran a FurMark stability test and the screen went blank after only 3 minutes. The GPU fan stopped running, but I could hear the HDD chugging along.

Rebooted and had the CHKDSK screen in front of me. It deleted a few "corrupt attribute records", "index entries" and then forced a reboot before I could even finish reading what it had been up to. Am I looking at a HDD issue?

Got back into Windows and ran FurMark with the exact same result - blank screen after 3 minutes of stress testing. *cry*
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 02:51 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

overclocking
Maybe it was never 100%stable.
Run it way down even at defaults with only necessarry voltages
see what it does
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 08:28 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I'm going to say it is your overclock also. Namely too low of core voltage for those speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 10:45 AM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

Agreed. Increase you vcore a notch.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 01:40 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

I agree with the others to increase your CPU voltage. If in the future you see another BSOD and there's something about "IRQL" in it, then that will be your RAM overclock so if you see IRQL, start tweaking the RAM voltage, timings, etc.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 06:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for the input guys. I'll start toggling with the vcore and mem voltage settings.

What I don't understand is how my system can remain stable under hours of pounding from Orthos (blend test) and Prime95, but will crash when I try loading the Empire: Total War demo or run Windows Media player for more than ten minutes.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 06:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Default

To test the overclocking theory I just restored all of my settings to their default and ran a FurMark stability test. Like the past two tests the system crashed after less than three minutes of torture. No special effects involved - the screen just went blank and the vid card fan stopped spinning.

I'll run MemTest tomorrow when I have more time to fiddle around with my system.

Looks like there might be an RMA in the cards. What're the chances I'm experiencing a software issue with Win XP 32-bit?

Blah...frustrating problem since I don't have any spare parts to slot in to help with the troubleshooting.

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2009, 11:26 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
To test the overclocking theory I just restored all of my settings to their default and ran a FurMark stability test. Like the past two tests the system crashed after less than three minutes of torture. No special effects involved - the screen just went blank and the vid card fan stopped spinning.

I'll run MemTest tomorrow when I have more time to fiddle around with my system.

Looks like there might be an RMA in the cards. What're the chances I'm experiencing a software issue with Win XP 32-bit?

Blah...frustrating problem since I don't have any spare parts to slot in to help with the troubleshooting.

cheers
Welcome to the "wonderful" world of OC'ing.....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help - Random Re-Boot misterlarry Troubleshooting 17 September 20, 2008 01:23 PM
Random Lag Infiniti Gaming 10 September 4, 2008 03:28 PM
random ram? Tazer-[X] RAM 3 August 26, 2008 07:15 PM
FS Some random stuff cyberspyder Buy/Sell & Trade 32 August 21, 2008 06:17 AM
4870 deaths random or otherwise? magictorch Video Cards 7 June 29, 2008 08:40 PM