Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 10:13 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default So, any last ideas before I just give up?

Hi all, I had tried this combo once before and got as high as 3.2 stable on air

Now I have it under water and I can get it to 3.4, but its still weird.

I can do all the way up to 3.2 on stock voltages, 3.4 by upping the MCH by .2V and the FSB by 0.1V but nothing more.

I assume this it the FSB "wall"?

The CPU seems capable of more cause it can do 3.4 on stock voltage...?

anyone have tips for one last shot at something higher? Temps never go above 38C (48C on air)

I have read everything I can find...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 10:29 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,667

My System Specs

Default

Usually, it's a FSB "hole", not a wall at such frequency. The DS3L can do 500MHz.

Raise both Vmch and Vfsb to +0.3. Push the frequency to 450 (3.6GHz) and raise the Vcore. And make sure you don't oc you ram too much for the time being.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 10:41 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Yeah- that seems odd. I doubt this is the problem, but have you made sure that your RAM is solid? Maybe loosen them a little (5-5-5-15)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 11:07 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

sorry, I really never know how much info to type and I never have much time per post, lol.

I tried 450 and 475, ram at 2.0x at full 2.3V and 5-5-5-18 no go (this is 5-5-4-12 @1066 ram)

I went as high as 1.40 on the cpu, should I try higher? I thought that due to it running up to 3.4 on stock that it was a mobo thing...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 11:16 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,693

My System Specs

Default

Since it's not a 45nm processor you should be fine bumping the V up a bit. I push my chips fairly hard, so I'm not afraid to go as high as 1.55 on my Q6600, and 1.45 on my E8400.

Keep in mind though (I had to learn this myself.... :) ) that the processor can also be FSB limited. My E6420 wouldn't do above 460 FSB stable no matter what board I threw it at. My Q6600 doesn't seem to like anything about 470 FSB.

That said... you're probably getting into the "big volts for little gain" range of your chip. I'd hope it would do at least 3.6, but you might find that anything above that takes a hell of a lot of vcore.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 11:21 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

thats kinda what I figured the last time, but I finally have offloaded all the mission critical data onto the wifes PC and put mine under water, thought I would give it one last go.

I can get it to boot at 3.8 at +.2fsb, +.3mch and stock vcore, just fails orthos right away, going to 1.4 did nothing.

Also HWmonitor is reporting drastically different vcore than what its set at, i guess that the old droop this board is known for...

I will try upping the vocre again tonight, maybe 1.45-1.5, just to see, then leave it at 3.4ghz till I get something new...

surprising though as I have 2 cpus (2180) that will do a 30% OC with no additional voltage on anything, but wont budge over that for hell or high water (I have 2 ds3L's)

weird and

will report later on results of the "crank it all and see" test
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 01:33 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Intel says 1.55v max for 65nm, I beleive? give it some more!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 01:40 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,667

My System Specs

Default

I've pushed every single 65nm at the 1.55V Vcore mark, and not one failed me. Go ahead, you got the cooling for!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 01:55 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

all right, see you on the other side!
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 08:49 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

ok, 1.45 through 1.50 didnt work so I just rammed it to 1.55 and got this so far:



I still have the thermal overload protection on, I couldnt remember if it messed up an o/c too?

if so maybe I could squeeze a bit more out of er, but the load temps are getting up there, this rig hasn't ever seen 50+ before!

I know its within spec by quite a bit

does this give any hints on what I should try next?
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone willing to give me a hand? Nodscene Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 30 November 25, 2008 04:27 PM
Give me a reason to switch Exmortis HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 November 22, 2008 07:14 PM
FS: S_G's I-give-up sale. S_G Buy/Sell & Trade 16 October 7, 2008 03:14 PM
what will give me the best results? andynerd Video Cards 0 August 2, 2008 02:38 PM
WTB HD and AGP video card for Give away PC Taichan Buy/Sell & Trade 1 July 9, 2008 11:51 PM