Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 07:54 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

Let it run for 6 hours. But sure damn is looking good!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 07:59 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

nothing looks bad as far as running it like this daily?
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 08:00 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

1.55V is the limit. But my Quads all made it to that limit while Folding, and survived with proper cooling.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 08:05 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,236

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, that's a damn fine looking OC!

I second 3.0Charlie's comment on the voltage... I've run my Q6600, E6420, & E6400 @ 1.55 without any obvious issues.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 08:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,485

My System Specs

Default

My E6420 hit a brick wall @ 3.2GHz, but did those clocks on only a minor voltage increase. Dud chips happen.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 08:19 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,236

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YukonTrooper View Post
My E6420 hit a brick wall @ 3.2GHz, but did those clocks on only a minor voltage increase. Dud chips happen.
I had to look it up in an old review (sadly my e6420 met an untimely death totally unrelated to overclocking) but I managed 3650 out of mine.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 08:30 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

so, voltage readings... sticky subject I know, but if I set it at 1.55, but it reads in HWmon (and others) as 1.46, does that mean anything?
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 08:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

yeah, that loadline calibration is not on, which I feel is a good thing. The MAX(at idle only) your chip will get is 1.55v, but under load, 1.46v...sounds great to me!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 08:38 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

does that thermal thing being on pose a problem? in bios (cant remember, dont want to reset and lose my orthos time, heh)
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 08:39 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
yeah, that loadline calibration is not on, which I feel is a good thing. The MAX(at idle only) your chip will get is 1.55v, but under load, 1.46v...sounds great to me!
that actually makes a lot of sense, never thought about it that way for some reason, might limit your upper clock, but much safer. Until they can compensate fast enough from load to idle, that spike could hurt something.
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone willing to give me a hand? Nodscene Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 30 November 25, 2008 03:27 PM
Give me a reason to switch Exmortis HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 November 22, 2008 06:14 PM
FS: S_G's I-give-up sale. S_G Buy/Sell & Trade 16 October 7, 2008 02:14 PM
what will give me the best results? andynerd Video Cards 0 August 2, 2008 01:38 PM
WTB HD and AGP video card for Give away PC Taichan Buy/Sell & Trade 1 July 9, 2008 10:51 PM