Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 05:52 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default Old and New Settings


Ok last night oc before ever running Memtest86+

And this is this morning after running memtest86+
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 06:04 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Cool!!!

That's a pretty hefty jump in memory frequency. :)

You'd probably be able to "tighten" those mem settings up in bios to match the 5-5-5-15 listed in the SPD for 500 MHZ.

Does your motherboard have a way to save "profiles" into the bios just in case you push the memory too far?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 06:06 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Sure does steve but i don't understand what you mean tighten the mem settings in bios, i went in to my bios and set the memsettings there then ran memtest86+ twice and it said no errors! I am assuming thats a good thing ???
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 06:07 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

So whats this do for me?
i mean with the 533 mem settings?
makes my programs faster ?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 06:14 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfBane View Post
Sure does steve but i don't understand what you mean tighten the mem settings in bios, i went in to my bios and set the memsettings there then ran memtest86+ twice and it said no errors! I am assuming thats a good thing ???
Most folks will let it run overnight to ensure stability.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfBane View Post
So whats this do for me?
i mean with the 533 mem settings?
makes my programs faster ?
It will make some calculations faster. How much affect it would have on your programs would depend on the program (some are more affected by memory than others). In real terms... most gamers would suggest that you wouldn't see much benefit to FPS if any at all.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 06:19 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

So what program do i run to test my cpu?
or is it at my stable max?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 06:21 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Prime 95, or OCCT are probably the two most popular CPU stress testers. The only way to tell if your CPU is at max stable is to stress it at current levels to ensure stability, and then to bump it up a bit and test it again.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 06:28 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Ok lol man i am learning alot !!
so when i run this prime 95 does it take long ?
that memtest86+ took aver 1 hour to run the test twice:)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 06:56 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Well you really want to run prime for a minimum of 12 hours I do 24.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 06:56 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Use OCCT 2 hours. But damn, that's some nice Ram running at 533! Loose at 5-7-7-20, but still!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory settings in bios Jonwall CPU's and Motherboards 2 February 6, 2009 02:32 PM
Ram settings JupiterTrooper RAM 5 September 16, 2008 05:36 PM
Bad overclock settings? magictorch Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 December 2, 2007 12:59 PM
initial settings Jim CPU's and Motherboards 3 July 23, 2007 02:17 PM
Check your default HD settings sswilson Troubleshooting 5 July 7, 2007 05:37 PM