Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2009, 08:21 PM
Sawtooth's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default Troubles OC'ing new Phenom II

Hey all.
Just bought a Phenom II 920 (2.8Ghz). I'm having some issues with overclocking, and I'd like to figure out what I can do to fix it.
My mother board is an ASRock 780GXE. Now, as far as I have read I shouldn't need to update the BIOS, and it should have worked fine right off the start. However, if I cannot find any other solutions, I will resort to this.

When I went to overclock, I found out very quick that it wasn't going to let me get to 3.0 Ghz on stock voltage. This to me is a problem, considering I have read many articles of people reaching 3.2 Ghz right out of the box, and 3.5 Ghz with a very insignificant change to the Vcore. I'd rather not touch the voltage, thats a just a prefference of mine and I'd like to stick to it.

Also as a side note, when I view system settings my processor comes up as "AMD Processor model unknown". What does this mean and how do I fix it?

So I guess my questions are:
-Do I need a BIOS update?
-Would a reformate help?
-Could this processor just be a "bad chip".

Hope to get some answers, thanks for reading.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2009, 08:52 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

If you processor is being called an unknown then yuo should definitely update your bios then try again.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2009, 09:17 PM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

dunno what kinda bios flashing systems Asrock has, but I'd recommend not using anything that updates while in the Operating System. A flash drive is probably the easiest way.

Another note, you may void your warranty by flashing the bios, might want to check with Asrock first.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2009, 09:44 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,501

My System Specs

Default

You got an ASrock board and you are expecting stellar overclocking? Start with updating the bios and then count your blessings for every single Mhz over stock speed. You didn't get a bad CPU, you got a weak motherboard.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2009, 11:38 PM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

agreed asrock is great for stock speed but wont oc worth crap.
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 06:07 AM
Sawtooth's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

With my last processor (4000 dual core) I overclocked it from 2.1ghz to 2.6ghz on stock voltages, with no problems.
My best friend has the exact same board with a Phenom X3 8750 and he can over clock it to 3.0 ghz no problems either. So it doesn't exactly sound like the board is "weak".

On the ASRock site there are no BIOS updates for this board, so I'm not sure where to look other than there for them.
__________________
Tyrel
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:42 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,501

My System Specs

Default

Overclocking an X2 and even the X3 is infinitely easier than overclocking the X4's. Sounds strange, but they just do not like to overclock much at all without multi changes. ASrock are bargain boards, they are not meant for overclocking.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:54 AM
Sawtooth's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

Just updated the BIOS so now my computer recognizes what I have.
What would you recommend for a great oc'ing board then?
__________________
Tyrel
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:59 AM
Sawtooth's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

Ps: If you where to recommend a board with great overclocking, I would be looking for something under $200, and crossfire capable. Thanks :)
__________________
Tyrel
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 08:29 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,501

My System Specs

Default

NCIX.com - Buy ASUS M3A78-T ATX AM2 AMD790GX CrossFire 3PCI-E16 PCI-E 2PCI SATA RAID Video Sound GBLAN Motherboard - M3A78-T In Canada.

NCIX.com - Buy Gigabyte MA790X-UD4 ATX AM2+/AM3 AMD790X DDR2 CrossFireX 2PCI-E 2PCI SATA2 Sound GBLAN Motherboard - GA-MA790X-UD4 In Canada.

Those are the only 2 I can find that I would recommend in your price range. I am biased towards ASUS, but Gigabyte does make one hell of a board.

Now that your board recognizes your CPU, give it a go. Bump it up a few at a time and it might surprise you.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vista internet troubles.... SiDiX007 Networking 14 November 25, 2008 10:07 AM
video card troubles CrazyScott Troubleshooting 4 November 25, 2008 10:05 AM
SVIDEO troubles the_bandit87 Troubleshooting 4 July 10, 2008 06:07 AM
Asus MB troubles (M2NPV-VM) BrotherJack Troubleshooting 15 February 22, 2008 10:35 AM
AMD prepares its Phenom FX, Phenom X4 and Phenom X2 lineups Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 May 4, 2007 07:38 AM