Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2009, 10:59 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default ram on gigabyte x58 ds4

the board says it is rated to run 1066/1333/ and 2100+ but i can only get the board to boot if i stay close to 1066 or 1333. i tried 1280 and it crashed

cpu i7 920
board x58 ds4
ram aeneon ddr3 1600

I mean i am know testing bclk 170

Question is will my board only run ram at 1066/1333/ and 2100+ because evan when i set it at stock bclk of 133 and set the ram muilt so ram is at 1600 it won't boot at all.
Can' seem to find an answer on there website any ds4 users help would be great

p.s am not sure if i should go with a p6t or the evga they both seem to run ram at 1600 and great overclockes. new only to i7 overclocking.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2009, 04:05 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

got it
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2009, 09:48 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
got it
How'd you figure it out? I'm just curious, so if anyone else has a similar problem they can solve it by just searching and finding this thread instead of making a new topic on it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2009, 10:43 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

the uncore has to be 2.25 times that of your memory. ram 1600 has to have on uncore at least 3600 mhz to stay in sink with the imh i think it's called the memory controler.
so up went the bclk to so far 180 and stable right now at 3.6 at 1.18v. i think this is really low but not sure not a lot of low voltage overclocking online for 920 i7 ram at 1440
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2009, 10:43 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

photo bucket in the morning tried and kinda sick
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RMA with NCIX or GIGABYTE coldmantis Troubleshooting 12 July 24, 2008 05:27 AM
RMA Gigabyte P35 DS3R rom0n CPU's and Motherboards 1 April 30, 2008 12:07 AM
Gigabyte watercooling kit Vinnie Water Cooling 1 November 27, 2007 08:18 PM
Gigabyte Poseidon 310 qwerty Rumor Mill 1 November 6, 2007 02:58 PM
Gigabyte GA-945GME-DS2 BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 1 March 21, 2007 01:51 AM