Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 02:57 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default Odd benchmarks

ORB - World of Performance
Reinstalled windows 7 x64, and now vantage and 3dmark06 would run as well as finish, but the scores are really low and there was a wierd sort of flashing on certain things during the tests. Not sure if one of the cards is faulty, my psu cant handle it, or its the windows 7 install/ati drivers.
Ive got the latest drivers off the ati site and aisntalled the full ccc. Really thinking its win7 because even my cpu scores are horrible compared to a q9550, which they shouldnt be. Any ideas?

Was playing fc2 before i did a reinstall and it worked great so im reinstalling to see if that has those errors now too

edit:ok farcry 2 is the same as the tests, cant be the psu or it would have done it before right?
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com

Last edited by Jonwall; February 8, 2009 at 03:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 04:11 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Likely the display drivers I wouldn't really be concerned about low scores, given you are using a beta operating system there's bound to be some issues.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 04:23 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

its not so much the scores but the fact that things are all flashing in all my games, it WAS just working on a win7 install where i swapped out my mb and cpu for newer ones, yet a fresh install has these errors :(

Tried the newest vista x64 drivers and the win7 beta ones as well, no luck. Really dont wanna install vista since i lost my x64 dvd

Seems to be a crossfire issue, disabled it and no flashing, some people were saying they would get flashing if they used both crossfire bridges in a 2 card setup, maybe ill get rid of it by adding the second lol.
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com

Last edited by Jonwall; February 8, 2009 at 04:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 05:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 41
Default

You're running a beta of an operating system so odd things are bound to happen.
__________________
____________________________________________
ASrock P45xe/q8200@2.8ghz/HD 4850+hd4830 crossfire/2xWD3200AAKS+0/4gb gskill 800/Samsung 245bw/Ocz Modxstream 600w
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 05:29 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

well adding the second bridge made a difference, kind of. The flashing is nowhere NEAR as bad, scores seem better too. Could only REALLY notice it on the cpu tests and the loading screens

not sure what fixed it, adjusted my ht ref clock back to 200 and oced to 3.4 with the multi, lowered the cpu voltage a tiny bit, running my memory at 800 instead of 1000mhz, also removed both bridges, reseated the bottom card, then hooked only one back up. No flash, gonna bench now
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com

Last edited by Jonwall; February 8, 2009 at 06:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 08:43 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/3162/3dmark062ci1.jpg ahead of a i7 920 with a gtx 260 :D, of course thats an 800mhz difference in cpu frequency but o well.
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phenom II game benchmarks? gs01 Rumor Mill 5 December 22, 2008 09:22 PM
My Phenom II benchmarks Table21 CPU's and Motherboards 3 December 21, 2008 06:32 PM
Low Benchmarks? LegendofJubei Troubleshooting 3 August 28, 2008 11:15 AM
PCIe 2.0 vrs 1.0 Benchmarks? sswilson Video Cards 4 February 3, 2008 07:51 AM
XFX 8800GT Benchmarks! abs0Lut Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 November 12, 2007 06:00 PM