Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 07:57 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

well using the stock cooler and thermal paste im at 3.4ghz and just using the built in stability tests with AOD it maxes out at about 56c-57c. Had to up the voltage to 1.4, probably didnt need to go quite that high but it bsod on me instantly when i tried to bump it up to 17.5x multi from stock lol.

tried 3.6, booted into windows and then reset within 10 seconds of stress testing lol, only had 1.4 voltage though, gonna leave it at 3.5ghz stress testing overnight
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com

Last edited by Jonwall; February 5, 2009 at 08:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2009, 06:24 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

Alright now ive decided to oc the ht ref and lower the multi, mainly to run my ram at its optimal settings. The ht ref is at 250mhz, multi for cpu is at 14 and its clocked at 3.5ghz. Allows me to run my ram at the proper 1000mhz and 5-5-5-18 timings though.
CPU voltage at 1.425, maxing out at 56.5c with AODs stability testing. Think im going to attempt to bump it up to 3.625ghz, MAYBE 3.7 if the cooler can handle it lol. Once i reach the max ill do some runs of 3dmark vantage and 3dmark 06, and any other benchmarks anyone can think of for me to do so long as its not games since i have none other than css atm :(
Any idea what the "safe" temps are for this cpu?

Edit: Is it normal to have to raise the pcie frequency from 100 to 108 so my video card will actually boot at startup?

Now at 3.625, so far its stable, had to up the voltage to 1.45 just to get125 more mhz though lol

Ok after some testing, 1.45 wasnt stable, im all the way up to 1.475 and its been stable for 15 minutes now. Temps maxing out at 63c, likely wont push it any farther than this til i get a better cooler since id rather stay below or as close to 60 as possible
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com

Last edited by Jonwall; February 7, 2009 at 07:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2009, 08:21 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

I have the Dfi LP DK 790FX-M2RS the cheaper board with the latest beta bios for phenom II support I have a straight up 18x200 oc going on nice & stable with my listed setup atm, in win 7 I was able to boot in at 3.8 19x200 but the os became unstable & not shure if I bumped my cooler or from running the chip @ 1.51v's briefly my temps went up 2-4c to a idle of 29-32c

So as of right now I've got a 3.6 ghz oc stable 18x200 @ 1.40-1.41v's, according to my reading, there cpu is realy fsb sensative especialy at higher multi's was able to do at the same voltage a 205x18 multi but over that i would get bsod's in win 7 64 bit beta os.

just for those whom are curious this is before the odd voltage occurance now

Last edited by terrybear; February 7, 2009 at 08:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2009, 09:15 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

cant even read that lol, and i didnt get voltage near 1.5, only went to 1.475 since this stock cooler and paste isnt the greatest, dont like climbing above 60c :(
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2009, 11:18 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonwall View Post
cant even read that lol, and i didnt get voltage near 1.5, only went to 1.475 since this stock cooler and paste isnt the greatest, dont like climbing above 60c :(
Sorry photobucket messed it up I guess.

Yeah I'm not using stock go aftermarket with a cooler like mine or some kinda direct heatpipe cooler around $40-50 with a good fan on it & some of those temps will come down alot for you. :)
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2009, 11:25 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

ya im considering buying the vendetta 2 since i can get free shipping from ncix, they arent in stock atm though :( Costs $10 more to buy one at the store here then the taxes on top of that
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 07:00 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

my sythe ninja rev.b's on sale for $36 at ncix atm.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best overclocking phenom budget board trt740 CPU's and Motherboards 9 February 16, 2009 09:46 AM
M3A32-MVP + Phenom II Lachigan CPU's and Motherboards 0 December 3, 2008 03:58 AM
AMD Phenom X3 LooseCannon CPU's and Motherboards 6 April 24, 2008 11:22 AM
AMD Phenom Kappy CPU's and Motherboards 4 March 26, 2008 06:24 PM
AMD prepares its Phenom FX, Phenom X4 and Phenom X2 lineups Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 May 4, 2007 07:38 AM