Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 05:15 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Smile Q8200 Overclocking Q's

Hey guys. I'm pretty new to overclocking to be honest, but I've read quite a bit about it so far, and have checked out a few threads with overclocking results and such.

I have slowly started to overclock my Q8200, and made a pretty small adjustment to the buss speed and changed the multiplier from 6 to 7 (my only options in the bios).

So I've basically went from 2.3 GHz to 2.6 GHz on air. (Yes I know thats nothing )

Anyways, my temps are what you see below at idle. Under prime95's stress test @100% LOAD they are around Core 1: 56-58 C2: 55 C3:58 C4: 52

I left the voltage at AUTO. (not wanting to screw it up)

Can anyone provide me with any tips or adjustments I should make at this current state, and also let me know how much more I can get out of it on air before my temps are too high. My rig is in the Sig.

Thanks guys.

__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 05:22 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

1. Any overclock is something.
2. Quads over 400 FSB are asking for some Vcore, but mostly NB volts.
3. Quads over 450 FSB are very rare.
4. Keep a close eye on those temps - already running high 40s at idle is not a good sign. Do you have proper ventilation in that 1200? Don't exceed 65C under load.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 05:25 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

I think I have proper ventilation... hehe I have all the stock fans on the Mid setting, and the front ones all like 3/4 of the way cranked. I also installed a fan on the side that runs at mid speeds as another exhaust.

The temps are around the exact same with the side off too...
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 05:26 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 135
Default

Check to make sure that your heatsink is seated properly. You might want to try taking it off, reapplying thermal paste, and reseating the heatsink if you think your temperatures are too high.
__________________
Q6600 G0 @ 3.0GHz - P5Q-E - EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 - Corsair TX750 - Coolermaster HAF 932 - Xigmatek HDT-S1283 - Mushkin Redline 2x2gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 05:28 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
Check to make sure that your heatsink is seated properly. You might want to try taking it off, reapplying thermal paste, and reseating the heatsink if you think your temperatures are too high.

I thought that was the problem before too. I tried 3 different coolers. I bought the OCZ Freeze thermal compound as well...

Maybe I'm applying it wrong or something? I just put a little rice sized dot in the middle of the cpu then put the cooler in place.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 05:31 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by element291 View Post
I thought that was the problem before too. I tried 3 different coolers. I bought the OCZ Freeze thermal compound as well...

Maybe I'm applying it wrong or something? I just put a little rice sized dot in the middle of the cpu then put the cooler in place.
Its a quad you can't do it this way.

You need to use the X method or put to small drops down.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 05:35 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,531

My System Specs

Default

Temps look fine to me. As you already guessed, you are not gonna go all that far with a Q8200. 3.2Ghz is almost guaranteed the max if you want it perfectly stable. I noticed the biggest boost going to 3.0Ghz and little more at 3.2Ghz (which I could not really get stable). Even with decent water cooling, I am not much lower than many people's air results. I get to about 62C using IntelBurnTest (which is going to get you about 10C+ over what you currently get). I really had to bump up the NB voltage to somewhat uncomfortable levels, but that was much more important than Vcore. Also loosen up that ram since it is going to be the limiting factor when you get over 400MHz FSB.

Don't worry about your temps, anything under 70C is fine. That board should run 450Mhz FSB with that CPU, it is just gonna take some major tweaking. I had a P5Q PRO (May he rest in pieces) that ran 450FSB with my Q8200 stable. Unfortunately for me I goofed when installing a better NB cooler and borked the board. My current setup also can run a touch higher, but I am quite happy with 3Ghz since it gave me the boost I was looking for. I am running 429Mhz FSB right now in case you are wondering.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 05:35 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Its a quad you can't do it this way.

You need to use the X method or put to small drops down.

Which way would you suggest for maximum cooling?

Thanks in advanced.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 05:37 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
Temps look fine to me. As you already guessed, you are not gonna go all that far with a Q8200. 3.2Ghz is almost guaranteed the max if you want it perfectly stable. I noticed the biggest boost going to 3.0Ghz and little more at 3.2Ghz (which I could not really get stable). Even with decent water cooling, I am not much lower than many people's air results. I get to about 62C using IntelBurnTest (which is going to get you about 10C+ over what you currently get). I really had to bump up the NB voltage to somewhat uncomfortable levels, but that was much more important than Vcore. Also loosen up that ram since it is going to be the limiting factor when you get over 400MHz FSB.

Don't worry about your temps, anything under 70C is fine. That board should run 450Mhz FSB with that CPU, it is just gonna take some major tweaking. I had a P5Q PRO (May he rest in pieces) that ran 450FSB with my Q8200 stable. Unfortunately for me I goofed when installing a better NB cooler and borked the board. My current setup also can run a touch higher, but I am quite happy with 3Ghz since it gave me the boost I was looking for. I am running 429Mhz FSB right now in case you are wondering.

Cool, thanks for that info. Very informative. I have no idea what settings to change when it comes to my RAM though...
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 05:38 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,531

My System Specs

Default

I should also add that there is no reason you couldn't load it up to 80C with any stress testing program since these CPU's don't start to throttle before 95C. I tormented a QX6850 with 100C+ temps on a regular basis when I was testing heatsinks for Techgage.com and it still works perfectly. I wouldn'y want to run over 80C 24/7, but as long as it idles under 50C and loads under 75C then you will hardly shave any life off it if any at all. Don't forget to go into BIOS and make sure the CPU fan is running 100%. You can tell because the Vendetta 2's fan is quite loud at full speed.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 vs Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Hanibal{CA} New Builds 18 August 10, 2009 08:53 PM
Overclocking and Cpu-Z CactusJoe Troubleshooting 15 December 9, 2008 02:59 PM
Intel Q8200 yycraven Off Topic 6 August 27, 2008 08:46 PM
About Overclocking blogz101 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 July 28, 2008 08:17 PM
Need help overclocking further Kessler Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 December 5, 2007 06:09 PM