Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 05:41 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,527

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by element291 View Post
Cool, thanks for that info. Very informative. I have no idea what settings to change when it comes to my RAM though...
Loosen the timings to 5-5-5-15 and up the Vdimm to 19.V-2.0V. You will need to up the NB to 1.3V or more as well once you get over 400MHz FSB. Change the dividers to make sure to keep the ram speeds down near stock speeds because that will lighten up the stress on the NB as well. At my current speed the lowest I could possibly set the ram to run is 858Mhz so you can see that you will be pushing the NB quite hard once you get it OC'd higher.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 06:12 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

I just resat the cpu cooler with the X method of applying thermal paste. Used the arctic cleaning solution to remove the old stuff as well.

New temps. (Don't appear to be much different )
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 06:14 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Then you have yourself a warm chip or that cooler is not good for quads.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 06:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by element291 View Post
Hey guys. I'm pretty new to overclocking to be honest, but I've read quite a bit about it so far, and have checked out a few threads with overclocking results and such.

Anyways, my temps are what you see below at idle. Under prime95's stress test @100% LOAD they are around Core 1: 56-58 C2: 55 C3:58 C4: 52

I left the voltage at AUTO. (not wanting to screw it up)

Can anyone provide me with any tips or adjustments I should make at this current state, and also let me know how much more I can get out of it on air before my temps are too high. My rig is in the Sig.

Thanks guys.
Hi guys, I post regularly on Toms () and less so on Anandtech.

Anyway, I took advantage of the 30% cashback on eBay back on BlackFriday and got some sweet deals. I have the Q8200 ($119), paired with a Gigabyte UD3P ($84) and 8gb of Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800 cas4 ($40).

I've had mine running at 3.325ghz (475x7, ram also at 475mhz) since the first week of December, with idle temps 35-41c and a 3-hour Prime95 load hitting 52-56c. I'm using the XigmaTek s1283 with some 2-year old AS5 I've had in the fridge since my Opteron 165 build a couple of years ago. I've also read RealTemp measures quads better, so that's what I use (I just checked temps with CoreTemp, and at my 3.3ghz idle it shows 49c).

I'll be honest with you, after learning how to overclock the Opteron 165 and realizing my microATX s939 Biostar motherboard was limiting my chip to 2.25ghz (from 1.8ghz), I didn't want to hassel with learning and tweaking the Q8200.

So, I posted in the Gigabyte forum (tweaktown, I think) and the moderator had me give him my BIOS info on a sort of BIOS questionnaire, along with my overclock "goal." He returned it to me filled out with properly adjusted BIOS settings for a 3.0ghz overclock (7x425). I used all the lowest voltage bumps and 3.0ghz was a breeze.

About a week later I got the itch to bump it up a little and went 475x7 (3.325ghz..same vcore as 3.0ghz). I'm sure it could go higher as it never even crashed at this setting (unlike my Opteron that was constantly crashing during overclocking trials).

I'll try to find my screenshot and I wouldn't worry too much about temps. Use RealTemp and keep it under 65-70c under load. Also, I can give you my BIOS settings but I don't know how similar your ASUS board is to my Gigabyte in that department.

*edit*
Another thing, never use AUTO VOLTAGE on the CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 06:19 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Then you have yourself a warm chip or that cooler is not good for quads.

I'm going to go with warm chip. I've tried the Gelid Silent Spirit, the Zalman CNPS8700, and now the Vendetta 2.

As for making sure the CPU fan is running at 100% it doesnt sound too loud, and in the bios the hardware manager says its running about 1400rpm. There were a few selections that I could find that involved speed. (normal - silent - turbo) I set it up for turbo, but I dont think the rpms changed.

Is there somewhere else to change the cpu fan speed?

Also, I took a screen shot of my temps during a stress test.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |





Last edited by element291; January 25, 2009 at 06:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 06:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Here's the screenshot:

PiXhost - Free Image Hosting




Last edited by Noya; January 25, 2009 at 07:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 06:47 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

50-60c during full load is just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 06:53 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by element291 View Post
I'm going to go with warm chip. I've tried the Gelid Silent Spirit, the Zalman CNPS8700, and now the Vendetta 2.

As for making sure the CPU fan is running at 100% it doesnt sound too loud, and in the bios the hardware manager says its running about 1400rpm. There were a few selections that I could find that involved speed. (normal - silent - turbo) I set it up for turbo, but I dont think the rpms changed.

Is there somewhere else to change the cpu fan speed?

Also, I took a screen shot of my temps during a stress test.
Don't worry the Vendetta2 is a great cooler for quads, I have it on both of mine. Realtemp is showing a 5* cooler temp because you have to change the TJ Max value to 100* from 95* in settings...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2009, 10:34 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noya View Post
Another thing, never use AUTO VOLTAGE on the CPU.
I'm just wondering about this part. I'm running my Q8200 at a 450MHz FSB, and I've never taken any of the voltages off AUTO. I'm running it on a P5E3 Deluxe WiFi-AP @n. My cores idle at 43 or 44 degrees on the coldest one, and 50 or 51 degrees on the hottest one. I've been tempted to take off the heat sink and reapply the thermal paste to see if this will cool it at all.

Anything I should be worried about with that overclock? Oh, I'm also running my DDR3 at just below 1600MHz.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 vs Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Hanibal{CA} New Builds 18 August 10, 2009 08:53 PM
Overclocking and Cpu-Z CactusJoe Troubleshooting 15 December 9, 2008 02:59 PM
Intel Q8200 yycraven Off Topic 6 August 27, 2008 08:46 PM
About Overclocking blogz101 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 July 28, 2008 08:17 PM
Need help overclocking further Kessler Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 December 5, 2007 06:09 PM