Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2009, 06:09 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Try bumping your CPU &/or NB volts a notch... could be the extra drain on the PSU for 3D graphics is causing those voltages to drop below a stable level.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2009, 07:34 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 135
Default

CPU is at 1.3 now, what should I try for northbridge voltage? The P5Q-E doesn't show what the current voltage is, just "auto". I also disabled load line calibration, that's the setting that reduces vdroop. I'll try enabling that, I just had it off for stability testing because it sometimes raises vcore under load then it could still be unstable when it's idle.
__________________
Q6600 G0 @ 3.0GHz - P5Q-E - EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 - Corsair TX750 - Coolermaster HAF 932 - Xigmatek HDT-S1283 - Mushkin Redline 2x2gb
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 01:31 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 135
Default

Okay I just checked the voltages on my power supply by jumpering the 24-pin connector while everything was disconnected. 12v and 5v rails are fine but the 3.3v rail is only 2.75v. Worse yet, it drops to 2.69 when I measure the voltage while the computer is on. I think it's borked, should I RMA it?

EDIT: Ooops, sorry for double post.
__________________
Q6600 G0 @ 3.0GHz - P5Q-E - EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 - Corsair TX750 - Coolermaster HAF 932 - Xigmatek HDT-S1283 - Mushkin Redline 2x2gb
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 01:45 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

20% sounds like it's out of spec to me, but SKYMTL would have a better idea of what is and isn't allowed for tolerances.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 02:00 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 135
Default

AFAIK even cheaper voltage regulators would probably still only be around 5%. I've posted on the Corsair support forums, I'll see what they have to say on Monday.

EDIT: Funny, looking on the Corsair forums I found at least 5 other posts about shutdowns during gaming and one other post about a boot up problem that I am also experiencing. Maybe a bad batch got out or something.
__________________
Q6600 G0 @ 3.0GHz - P5Q-E - EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 - Corsair TX750 - Coolermaster HAF 932 - Xigmatek HDT-S1283 - Mushkin Redline 2x2gb

Last edited by Matt; January 25, 2009 at 02:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2009, 12:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

You have lock the PCI bus speed at 100mhz. Did you do this? If not, and it's set to auto, it follows the FSB and you get an OC on the bus = unstable. That would explain why it is only present when you OC.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
planning for new PSU Cadence Power Supplies 6 December 1, 2008 09:45 PM
Planning on a new build Jo5h New Builds 7 October 14, 2008 12:10 PM
Overclocking the Q6600 on an nForce 650i board Menello Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 August 20, 2008 11:29 PM
Planning on reisntalling Xp Rapid-X Storage 5 October 14, 2007 12:57 PM
Dfi P965-S Dark and Q6600 Overclocking keenan CPU's and Motherboards 2 September 23, 2007 03:16 PM