Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2007, 01:42 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default need good mobo

What would be a good overclocking socket 775 mobo for about 75 - 100 buck? in other words one with as much bois adjustment features as possible (2 ram slots is fine I've got 2 x 1024 ram sticks(pc 6400)

thanks

Last edited by Jim; May 26, 2007 at 01:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2007, 02:47 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I'll toss one out there..... It's on sale for 130 bucks, but you can get a decent overclock with it, and you probably won't be able to with anything less.

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...S&promoid=1034

ASUS P5B ATX LGA775 Conroe 965P DDR2 PCI-E16 3PCI-E1 3PCI 6 SATA2 Sound RAID Motherboard
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2007, 03:19 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Here's another that's more in your snack bracket.

This is a great board for the money provided you don't run into the 'power off, power on' bug- apparently for some people they turn off then back on when booting.

Abit IB9 ATX LGA775 P965 ATX DDR2 1PCI-E16 3CI-E1 2PCI SATA2 Sound GBLAN Motherboard
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2007, 03:52 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Are these better choices cause of their intel chipset ? if after setting an oc with the asus baord and it wouldn't reboot would it remember the last workable bios settings or would you have to clear cmos each time ?

Last edited by Jim; May 26, 2007 at 04:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2007, 07:47 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Do you mean better than NVidia chipsets?

I'm really not sure whether they reset to defaults after a bad boot. Might have to do a little surfing to find out- anyone else know?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2007, 08:17 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Do you mean better than NVidia chipsets?
well its just that the 2 examples have intel chipset ,wondering if they are better than all other brands of chipset
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2007, 09:53 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

I remember reading on a website (I believe it was Anandtech) that they had really good overclocks out of a Biostar mATX board that was under $100 ...

I'll edit my post if I can find it ...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2007, 10:01 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
well its just that the 2 examples have intel chipset ,wondering if they are better than all other brands of chipset
I don't think one could say that intel chipsets are the best, as there are strengths and weaknesses of course, as well as good uses and bad uses of that chipset, but there aren't that many choices in that price range if you want to any overclock.

You'd have alot more great choices in the 145-200 dollar range, if you're interested in OC- I know that's not necessarily your primary goal though.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2007, 01:44 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,570

My System Specs

Default

What proc are you planning to put into it?

That's going to make a big difference in how well a budget motherboard will OC for you.

If you're going with one of the 1066 FSB boards you'll need one that will hit fairly high (400+) FSB. If on the other hand you're looking at either the E4300 or E4400 you'll get fairly decent results out of older boards which might only do around 320 FSB.

(I've also heard some rumblings about a budget BioStar board being a decent OCer.... probably worth looking into).

As far as recovering from unstable OC without having to reset c-mos goes.... that's been pretty hit and miss for me over the years. My current Asrock does a great job of it, others have been less than stellar, however it's usually a mem OC which seems to require a c-mos reset.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 02:51 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
What proc are you planning to put into it?

That's going to make a big difference in how well a budget motherboard will OC for you.

If you're going with one of the 1066 FSB boards you'll need one that will hit fairly high (400+) FSB. If on the other hand you're looking at either the E4300 or E4400 you'll get fairly decent results out of older boards which might only do around 320 FSB.

(I've also heard some rumblings about a budget BioStar board being a decent OCer.... probably worth looking into).

As far as recovering from unstable OC without having to reset c-mos goes.... that's been pretty hit and miss for me over the years. My current Asrock does a great job of it, others have been less than stellar, however it's usually a mem OC which seems to require a c-mos reset.
sorry,slow geittin back on the thread , E4300 for max oc , wonder which mobo to use , never thought of Asrock , you been happy with that ? does it have an extensive bois for ocing ?

Last edited by Jim; May 28, 2007 at 02:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a good mobo to overclock my 4200+ Scart CPU's and Motherboards 5 March 15, 2008 12:24 PM
Suggestions on a good 775 mobo for video and audio editing kungfu CPU's and Motherboards 4 March 14, 2008 08:19 AM
Looking for a good mobo Scart CPU's and Motherboards 5 March 6, 2008 07:59 PM
ASUS M2R32-MVP is this a good mobo supernode CPU's and Motherboards 0 February 11, 2008 02:02 AM
WTB: Good 939 Mobo jevehn Buy/Sell & Trade 3 December 7, 2007 04:46 PM