Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 08:00 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default whats better when ocing?

bumping up the multiplier and keeping fsb low?
or bumping up the fsb and keeping multiplier low?
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 08:10 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,489

My System Specs

Default

I seem to get better memory intensive benchmark results from the highest FSB my hardware will support so my vote is "lower multi + higher FSB".
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 08:23 AM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

The only benefit of running at a high FSB with a lower multiplier is in synthetic benchmarks but running your Ram strapped at 400 with tighter timing, seems to echo in relevance.

Give it a try and let us know:)
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 03:37 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

okay so theoretically...3800\6 =633.33 * 4 = 2536 "fsb"
so i did 634 *6 = 3.8ghz around.
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 03:45 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

wt lol i tried that, bumped up vcore to 1.3v just to be safe and will lower later, and somehow it jumped itself to 4.09ghz?
and cpu multiplier was 9 which doesn't make sense? cause 634* 9 = like...5ghz
wtf???
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 03:49 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

is cpuz messing with me? -_- keeps giving me diff things....could this be because of intel's speedstepp?
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 04:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,489

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
is cpuz messing with me? -_- keeps giving me diff things....could this be because of intel's speedstepp?
Yes, speedstep needs to be disabled for accurate overclocking. (C1 + EIST? ).

What board/cpu are you using? 600+ FSB is pretty far out there..... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 05:20 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

asus striker II formula. E8400 C2D c0 stepping. and just in case, using ocz reaper hpc 8500 1066mhz 4gb ram
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 05:31 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

okay changed fsb to 507.x7.5 @1.2vcore
successful boot, turned off intel speedstep, opened realtemps, my temps are great.
but in cpu-z, core voltage reads 1.104V-1.088V (changes), and core speed changes from 3041.2@ x 6 to 3801.6@ x7.5 ....so it switches..good?bad?
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 05:38 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

btw, my ram sets is supposed to be pc2-8500 but cpu-z reading 6400...??? how do i change that?
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats my best option trayton Video Cards 5 December 27, 2008 10:22 PM
whats the cheapst MB and cpu Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 10 May 22, 2008 06:27 AM
Whats after x86? Speculation is welcome. Mysteryous CPU's and Motherboards 5 December 29, 2007 06:29 AM
whats this mean ? Jim CPU's and Motherboards 8 July 25, 2007 05:39 AM
Whats your opinion on this? ragenrok RAM 11 April 25, 2007 04:30 AM