Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 07:11 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

is it possible for a disk boot failure because of ocing?....that just happened to me after i tried to change cpu multiplier to 9 and lower fsb to 440mhz
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 07:14 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Yes its very possible a bad or unstable overclock can corrupt the data on your hdd.

EE
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 07:23 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

i just reset the bios, booted fine , loaded windows.
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 07:25 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

i plan to use my rig for awhile atleast, i'm not ocing for hot benchmarks, i just want to oc to get a bit more outta my cpu . my friend that works at cc says i should lower fsb and up multiplier
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 08:37 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
i plan to use my rig for awhile atleast, i'm not ocing for hot benchmarks, i just want to oc to get a bit more outta my cpu . my friend that works at cc says i should lower fsb and up multiplier
I would tend to agree with him. High FSB is all fine and dandy if you know what your doing, but if your just learning, I'd try and stay under 500FSB.

As for CPU-Z reading your ram as 6400, thats okay/normal, as technically nothing higher than the PC-6400 spec exists according to JEDEC. Your ram was programed to meet JEDEC standards to ensure maximum compatablity. The you'll notice the EPP colum contains all the speed and timing settings that you paid for.

Name:  ram.jpg
Views: 57
Size:  32.8 KB
Remember all DDR(1, 2, or 3) is "double pumped" so 400=800, 533=1066, and so on.

As for what and who JEDEC is, well, JEDEC is the association that creates and sets open standards for memory, they set out what speeds, voltage and etc ram must meet and sell at. Technically when you bought PC8500 ram, you bought PC6400 ram that is guaranteed to run at PC8500 speeds by the manufacture, as PC8500 doesn't exist according to JEDEC. It's just politics and slowness by JEDEC to meet what the industry is pumping out.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 08:55 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

great, thanks! well that solves my RAM question..
noww: running 507mhz fsb x7.5 = 3.801.46GHZ @ 1.3vcore
Realtemps reads my cpus temps idle at high 30's,
does Prime95 count as load? cause as soon as i started it temps shot up to low 50's
Hope this stabilizes...geez, cant believe im doing this instead of my essay ahaha, gg
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2009, 02:24 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,986

My System Specs

Default

CPU-Z for me always gives funny voltages and RAM speeds that were off... as long as it's set properly in the BIOS I wouldn't worry about it being off.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2009, 03:28 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

UPDATE: RAN P95 FROM 12AM - 9AM, 1 ERROR...some hardware errors :S...i can load windows and boot up fine, just tried playing some of my games, crashes in like 10 seconds of playtime.
Speedstep is off, vcore @ 1.3v=\
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2009, 03:31 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
UPDATE: RAN P95 FROM 12AM - 9AM, 1 ERROR...some hardware errors :S...i can load windows and boot up fine, just tried playing some of my games, crashes in like 10 seconds of playtime.
Speedstep is off, vcore @ 1.3v=\
Are you running Prime 95 with Small FFT enabled?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2009, 03:51 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

i picked the middle one...oh geez, alotta programs are crashing, the heavier apps...>_>
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats my best option trayton Video Cards 5 December 27, 2008 10:22 PM
whats the cheapst MB and cpu Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 10 May 22, 2008 06:27 AM
Whats after x86? Speculation is welcome. Mysteryous CPU's and Motherboards 5 December 29, 2007 06:29 AM
whats this mean ? Jim CPU's and Motherboards 8 July 25, 2007 05:39 AM
Whats your opinion on this? ragenrok RAM 11 April 25, 2007 04:30 AM