Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 02:14 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 35
Question Is my O/C (temps and volts) safe for 24/7 folding?

I have a Q6600 G0 running at 3.3ghz (470x7) on a Asus P5K Premium. My temps at 100% folding load are 54-58c across the four cores according to coretemps. My vcore is 1.465v (left it on auto in the bios) load, 1.6v pll, 1.4v vnb, 1.4v fsb termination, 1.2v vsb, 2.25v on my 4gb of PC6400 running 941 mhz 4-4-5-13. AI suite reports my "system temperature" to be 40c under load. I have a fan blowing on both my NB and my ram, both of them stay relatively cool (just warm, not hot to the touch) under 100% system load. Relatively good case ventilation with an Antec 300.

I also have my 4870x2 underclocked to 500/500 under 2D windows and folding only puts 50% load on one of the two GPUs at that speed (no idea why it only uses 50% of the active gpu), GPUZ reports 68c on the active gpu under folding.

I just started folding and I'd like to help out by leaving my system folding 24/7, but I'm just worried if it would kill my system running it 100% stress 24/7. I've heard many stories on folding killing GPUs, I don't want that to happen to any of my components.

Considering I'm running quite high of a FSB and 1.46v on the Q6600, I thought I'd get some opinions. What do you guys think of those temps and volts? are they safe for folding 24/7?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 02:25 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

Looks good to me. I'd try setting your vCore manually in the BIOS, you may be able to lower it a notch or 2 and still keep the same OC.

Welcome to the fold.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 02:26 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

No problem folding at those temps and voltage. You're quite safe.

My Qs managed 1.55V and 500FSB for months and they never failed while folding. 68C on the GPU is quite low too.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 02:54 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 35
Default

thanks for the reply guys. I'll try and see if I can lower the vcore a bit, but I tried before I got the new case and wasn't successful...

wow, 500fsb, that's actually one of my concerns, would fsb that high stress the NB too much for 24/7 load?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 03:17 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by divertiti View Post
I also have my 4870x2 underclocked to 500/500 under 2D windows and folding only puts 50% load on one of the two GPUs at that speed (no idea why it only uses 50% of the active gpu), GPUZ reports 68c on the active gpu under folding.

I just started folding and I'd like to help out by leaving my system folding 24/7, but I'm just worried if it would kill my system running it 100% stress 24/7. I've heard many stories on folding killing GPUs, I don't want that to happen to any of my components.
F@H sees a 4870X2 as two separate GPU's but does not take advantage of cards that are crossfired or SLI'd, these must be disabled. There is no way to disable the internal crossfire link in a X2 card under Vista atm, supposedly it's possible under XP.
If you are running XP you have to disable the internal crossfire and run two different Folding clients like you would for a multi-GPU set-up.
If you want more PPD bump up the Shaders only, the core and mem have little effect and can be underclocked...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 03:49 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCB001 View Post
F@H sees a 4870X2 as two separate GPU's but does not take advantage of cards that are crossfired or SLI'd, these must be disabled. There is no way to disable the internal crossfire link in a X2 card under Vista atm, supposedly it's possible under XP.
If you are running XP you have to disable the internal crossfire and run two different Folding clients like you would for a multi-GPU set-up.
If you want more PPD bump up the Shaders only, the core and mem have little effect and can be underclocked...
Thanks LCB001, I'm aware that under vista it can only use one of my GPU, but how come even on that GPU it's using only 50% of it? so essentially it's using only 25% of the card. Also I looked everywhere, overclocking options from AtiTrayTools to the Video Bios are only GPU and MEM, can't see shader speeds anywhere...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 03:55 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by divertiti View Post
thanks for the reply guys. I'll try and see if I can lower the vcore a bit, but I tried before I got the new case and wasn't successful...

wow, 500fsb, that's actually one of my concerns, would fsb that high stress the NB too much for 24/7 load?
A fan on the NB HSF takes care of that.

As for the shaders oc, use Rivatuner to clock them.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 04:00 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

Maybe the 4XXX series ati cards are different, but the 3XXX doesn't have separate shader clocks. (I thought that was only an Nvidia thing).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 04:17 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by divertiti View Post
Thanks LCB001, I'm aware that under vista it can only use one of my GPU, but how come even on that GPU it's using only 50% of it? so essentially it's using only 25% of the card. Also I looked everywhere, overclocking options from AtiTrayTools to the Video Bios are only GPU and MEM, can't see shader speeds anywhere...
Oops, sorry I didn't read that right. I don't know that much about the Ati side of things, from what I can tell the theory goes something like, because the ATi cards have so many smaller shaders [stream processors whatever] as compared to the Nvidia fewer but bigger ones they tend to use much more of the CPU and can get bottlenecked on the smaller WU's. That shouldn't be a problem with your quad at 3.3.
As far as a OC utility goes I hope another ATi user can help, with a Nvidia card you can unlink the shaders from the core and OC them separately, I use Rivatuner for mine.
One thing you might want to check is to make sure its running in 3d mode, if its in 2d that might be the problem.
Another is to make sure the GPU client's core priority is set to 'slightly higher' and the SMP has it at 'idle' to prevent that bottlenecking...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 06:38 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 35
Default

ahhh, that's a good point...the 2D/3D mode thing. I have the slightly higher priority and there are no separate shader overclocks, but I am in 2D mode, it only goes into 3D mode in games and such, wonder how I can put it into 3D just from desktop folding...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drive Safe Chilly Off Topic 1 December 25, 2008 07:56 AM
OCZ Memory owners: Try your memory at lower Volts sswilson RAM 0 October 24, 2008 07:36 AM
CPU temps vs Core temps sloth CPU's and Motherboards 13 October 19, 2008 12:34 PM
yahoo's not safe... omgwtf Off Topic 14 July 3, 2008 01:14 AM
this safe ? Jim RAM 3 July 27, 2007 03:14 PM