Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2007, 10:36 PM
JayDee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default First OC under belt...

This is my first OC attempt (I've thought about it for years) and a somewhat timid one but I'm happy with the results :)





New sig to go with new build - to big for site though :(

Last edited by JayDee; May 19, 2007 at 10:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2007, 11:08 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

How are your temps under load?

I envy you with your overclockable vid card.... every decent card I've ever owned has been close to EOL thus had absolutely no headroom to speak of.

Have you done any stress testing yet?

Welcome to the world of "living dangerously" (well... not really... it's usually the folks who use crazy volts who fry chips... :) ).

Is the 1.44v accurate for what you've input into bios?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2007, 12:26 AM
JayDee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
How are your temps under load?

I envy you with your overclockable vid card.... every decent card I've ever owned has been close to EOL thus had absolutely no headroom to speak of.

Have you done any stress testing yet?

Welcome to the world of "living dangerously" (well... not really... it's usually the folks who use crazy volts who fry chips... :) ).

Is the 1.44v accurate for what you've input into bios?
I actually had CPU at 1.375 and I just moved it down to 1.350 and still shows as 1.44. I have linkboost disabled = I don't know what is automatically adjusting the voltage higher.

No stress testing done yet but I have downloaded Prime95.

Temps under load are in the 45-50 degree range - I'll see what they look like once Prime95 gives both cores a workout.

I'm sure the RAM and GPU have more to give - I just need to spend some time and play with them more.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2007, 07:13 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Why prime95 and not orthos?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2007, 10:22 AM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

If you really want to see what your loads temps could reach try running TAT for a while. This program really heats up a CPU.


You can get it here: Download Intel Thermal Analysis Tool
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2007, 11:30 AM
Autumns's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Yarmouth
Posts: 7
Default

What are your temps on the chipsets? I hear they get fairly hot and I want to prepare myself with knowing what are normal temps on a OCed rig before I get mine.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2007, 03:41 PM
JayDee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autumns View Post
What are your temps on the chipsets? I hear they get fairly hot and I want to prepare myself with knowing what are normal temps on a OCed rig before I get mine.
I'll do that Autumns. I need to flash bios first and start OC over as I think I found the answer to my automatic voltage adjustments. I'm at bios 0501 and it looks like beta bios 0602 might be the magic pill.

Will the florppy drive NEVER die
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2007, 05:27 PM
Autumns's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Yarmouth
Posts: 7
Default

Well since you are doing it, would you be able to also post how easy it is to flash the bios? I am assuming you are doing it the tried and tested floppy method but I've never heard much about their EZ Flash method.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2007, 03:51 PM
JayDee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autumns View Post
What are your temps on the chipsets? I hear they get fairly hot and I want to prepare myself with knowing what are normal temps on a OCed rig before I get mine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Autumns View Post
Well since you are doing it, would you be able to also post how easy it is to flash the bios? I am assuming you are doing it the tried and tested floppy method but I've never heard much about their EZ Flash method.

Thanks
Sorry it took so long to reply Autumns but I just got around to round 2 of OC.

The BIOS flash was the same as I've always had. A boot diskette along with the BIOS apply program and a file containing the actual BIOS information. Installed easily and without incident :)

My chipset temps are a bit of a concern to me. In the Asus PC Probe it shows the "MB temp" at 30 but when I touch the northbridge it feels much hotter so I used a temp monitor from my Vantec Musketeer on the NB copper and it shows 45 degrees. Without OC it runs at about 30-35. All this done in about 25 deree room. I don't have a reading for the southbridge but from finger temp I'd guess about 40 degrees under orthos load.

Last edited by JayDee; June 7, 2007 at 04:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2007, 07:36 PM
JayDee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well I just detup the new rig with my "everyday" settings for gaming. Not as fast now but the Voltages are more in my "comfort zone" for everyday use. Doesn't show the load temps on screenie but they were at 50-52 degrees. I only ran orthos for 3 hours - no patience :p







Now it's time for S.T.A.L.K.E.R.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes