Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 05:44 PM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default Noobi OC question

Hello OC guys - what voltage to set e6850? It is stock at 3.0 ghz, I would like to run at 3.2 on air - with OCZ Vendetta2. So in bios, what would be the best for that?
Thanks,
zilla
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 05:48 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

If your going to overclock don't bother with just a small jump as you can do that without or shouldn't need to increase the voltage.

Go for like 3.5 or something
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 09:56 PM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

OK - but maybe I better read the stickies or something, because I don't know how to get 3.2 without upping the voltage.
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 10:47 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Dadzilla what Enaberif said is if your going to make a jump from 3.0 ghz to 3.2 ghz you will not need to increase the voltage up. Your processor should be able to handle that increase just fine.

If you plan to increase your voltage aim for 3.5ghz as that will probably need your to increase your voltage. I don't think you will see that much of improvement from 3.0ghz to 3.2 what is your temps right now you could probably run that Vendetta 2 if your temps are fine to 3.6 ghz.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.


Last edited by Dashock; December 5, 2008 at 11:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 04:05 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dashock View Post
Dadzilla what Enaberif said is if your going to make a jump from 3.0 ghz to 3.2 ghz you will not need to increase the voltage up. Your processor should be able to handle that increase just fine.

If you plan to increase your voltage aim for 3.5ghz as that will probably need your to increase your voltage. I don't think you will see that much of improvement from 3.0ghz to 3.2 what is your temps right now you could probably run that Vendetta 2 if your temps are fine to 3.6 ghz.
Agreed, and even to 3.6GHz should only require a small bump. If you don't want to increase it at all, 3.2GHz should be a breeze. Your OCZ Vendetta 2 should be great for anything upwards of 3.6GHz.

In other words, don't worry, have fun, enjoy your speed boost!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 09:19 AM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

OK so I am a rank noob at this - I get into bios with the delete key and just adjust the FSB a little?
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 09:21 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dadzilla View Post
OK so I am a rank noob at this - I get into bios with the delete key and just adjust the FSB a little?
Yep, that's the first step. :)

Small bump, test for stability, reboot, small bump, test for stability, reboot, small bump, etc.......
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 09:53 AM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Thanks to all - I did give it a bit of a try just now but I don't see the spot for FSB adjustment right away. MSI has this corny utility that lets me set to "Colonel" but it didn't change my game experience score at all! CPU temperature is 28 at the moment at idle, but I need a better software to monitor that. What do you guys use?
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....

Last edited by dadzilla; December 6, 2008 at 10:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 10:05 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dadzilla View Post
Thanks to all - I did give it a bit of a try just now but I don't see the spot for FSB adjustment right away. MSI has this corny utility that lets me set to "Colonel" but it didn't change my game experience score at all!
That's their "auto" overclock feature... don't bother with it.

I've got the manual for a P6N SLI here so if the bios features are similar you need to set the "System Clock Mode" to manual in order to enable FSB & Memory speed adjustments.

Use either Coretemp or Realtemp to monitor your CPU temps.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 10:19 AM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Thanks sswilson - I have to do some family stuff for today but I will try that tonight or tomorrow and see how I do then. :)
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes