Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2007, 04:20 PM
JayDee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Lapping C2D?

I did a seach and to my surprise Google found nothing on a "Lapping C2D" search so I thought I'd start here :)

Has anyone here lapped their C2D? I like the idea of going to copper on the IHS to squeeze a couple of degrees out of the temps. I've lapped A64's but the A64 IHS is much larger than the C2D. Is lapping even needed/desirable on a C2D? (other than a bad convex/concave IHS fix)

Just wanted to see if you guys had any thoughts on this :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2007, 04:26 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,424

My System Specs

Default

I'm not sure it would make all that much difference. C2Ds run pretty damn cool on their own without needing to lap the IHS.

Maybe now that e4300s can be had for $130 somebody will give it a try to see if it makes a difference.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2007, 04:32 PM
JayDee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I'm not sure it would make all that much difference. C2Ds run pretty damn cool on their own without needing to lap the IHS.
Thanks sswilson - that sounds logical
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2007, 10:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 18
Default

Might make a noticeable difference if you had phase change cooling or something similar. Removing the IHS on the other hand, would probably yield some improvements
__________________
On-Site Computer Repair in Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam, and Port Moody - The right solution is only a click away!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2007, 06:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Coast of Canuckland
Posts: 74
Default

Well if you really want to do this, and in some cases it does make a big difference. Where the IHS and the heatsink are both dished in (convex?)

THIS site shows how to do this step by step.

Remember though as soon as that CPU scrubs the sandpaper on the first stroke the warranty is gone.
__________________
Asus P5N-E SLI, Intel E6600, Arctic Freezer Pro7, Nvidia 8800GTS-320, 2Gigs Corsair XMS2-5400C4, WD 320 HD, OCZ GameXstream600W, Pioneer DVD-RW, CoolerMaster Centurion5 Case, Acer 22"WS 5ms
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2007, 06:07 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

I had to lap my e6600 because the IHS wasn't flat.Dropped my temps by 5 C under load at 3200 mhz.Lapped it with 400/600/1500 grit,it seemed to do a pretty good job.Just be careful to apply even pressure as you lap it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2007, 08:25 PM
JayDee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ogdin View Post
I had to lap my e6600 because the IHS wasn't flat.Dropped my temps by 5 C under load at 3200 mhz.Lapped it with 400/600/1500 grit,it seemed to do a pretty good job.Just be careful to apply even pressure as you lap it.
Cool!
Did you lapp until flat or did you lapp it down to the copper?
I didn't lapp mine as the temps are pretty good as is with the Sythe Ninja.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2007, 10:01 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Yep, I've lapped my E6300.

You do it the same way you lap anything else. Start at 320g and work your way up to 800g. Going past 800 does nothing in terms of temperatures, provided you do the 800g layer properly. Lap it to copper with 320g first, then 600 to remove all the remaining nickel plate, then 800 for the final flattening. Lapping on a pane of glass is a *must*

I lost about 6c load temp (water) but keep in mind my IHS was horrible to begin with... thus the need for lapping ;)



And don't worry about warranty... As long as the chip works at first boot... there's really nothing you can do to it to kill it that doesn't void your warranty anyways...
__________________
00 - Sempron @ 2.4ghz| XP | Asus A8N-SLI | Asus 6200TC | 4x 500GB Seagates | 3x 250GB WD | 1gb POS RAM.
01 - E6300 @ 3430 | Water | XP | Asus P5B Deluxe | Evga 8800GTS @ 675/2100 |WD740ADFD + 2x 320gb eSata| 2gb Gskill HK 4-4-4-5 @ DDR2-960.
02 - Macbook Pro Dual 2.0 | Tiger/XP/Vista | Radeon X1600 256mb Vram | 1gb Ram | 8c Temp Drop w AS5.

Last edited by Arcygenical; June 29, 2007 at 10:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2007, 03:05 PM
JayDee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Cool Arcygenical.
I'm thinking about going H20 and so I might Lapp as well.
I've lapped my last 3 A64's so I don't want the C2D to get hurt feelings
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lapping, Pros & Cons, difficulty CasheKicker CPU's and Motherboards 19 March 11, 2008 10:32 PM
Lapping my E6600 CanadaRox Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 19 March 10, 2008 09:03 AM
Basics on Lapping ineedaname Guides & How-to's 6 March 8, 2008 04:50 PM
First try at Lapping! zlojack CPU's and Motherboards 13 February 2, 2008 11:07 PM
Tech ARP's CPU & heatsink lapping guide Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 4 August 29, 2007 05:21 PM