Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 04:34 PM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 991
Default

Geez, I didn't even hold the #2 spot for 10 minutes

Hopefully this one will last a little longer:

9.157 secs.
i7 965 XE @ 4466MHz, 1.50V BIOS
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
G.Skill 3x2GB 1540Mhz 8-9-9

Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 04:47 PM
Finch's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 238
Default

good job MAC, impressive scores!
__________________
If you are an overclocker please come and participate to the HWC Benchmarks Competitions, look for the stickies.
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 04:57 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

are you going to make me post some phase scores with C2D to keep up with your i7 Mac?

are you still on air with that 965? if so, that is getting up there nicely. i can't even get 4GHz to prime with mine...but it was picked for sub-zero, not air cooling
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 05:02 PM
Finch's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 238
Default

calm down 3oh6 you are still first lol
__________________
If you are an overclocker please come and participate to the HWC Benchmarks Competitions, look for the stickies.
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 05:02 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Whoa... almost there, breaking the 9 seconds mark with Air. Impressive.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 05:04 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
are you going to make me post some phase scores with C2D to keep up with your i7 Mac?

are you still on air with that 965? if so, that is getting up there nicely. i can't even get 4GHz to prime with mine...but it was picked for sub-zero, not air cooling
Hey Jody, just post one so we all have a target to shoot for...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 05:26 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

15.111 secs.
Q6600 @ 3420MHz, 380FSB 1.475V BIOS
ASUS Maximus Formula
Corsair 4x2GB 1014Mhz 5-5-5-15

Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 06:34 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Wow- nice Mac!

I know I just posted a bench for this, but I pushed it a little more and I just coulsn't waste the fact that I beat 3.0Charlie by 0.01.

CPU- i7 920 at 4.34GHz (1.42V)
Memory 6GB- 1660 9-9-9-24 (1.64V)

Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 06:40 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Are you serious... time to launch SuperPi.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 06:43 PM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 991
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
are you still on air with that 965? if so, that is getting up there nicely.
Yep, still on air.

It's great for these quick tests, but for full load stability I still need to drop down to ~4.05Ghz. I'm convinced that it will do 4.2Ghz though, just need to find the perfect settings.


I could probably take your current record at 4500Mhz, but I don't feel like giving it more than anymore vCore.

So...I think you are safe

Having said that, I still have an E8400 E0 that I brought back from Taiwan and that I haven't tried yet, so...who knows
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes