Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2007, 09:09 PM
DerekOldschool's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K1LLER_INSTINCT View Post
DerekOldSchool - I'm just wondering if my cpu is unlocked already. I don't want to really mess with it cause the motherboard was designed for HP so God knows what proprietary **** they have done with the BIOS.
The only way you can tell if the cpu is unlocked is to change the multiplier in the bios and then check it with CPU-Z (or some other app) to see if it actually changed or not.

I actually had an XP 3000, but it was super-locked (no pencil trick or whatever possible) and I traded it in for a mobile processor (an XP-M 2500)

I was glad I did, because it runs faster than a xp3200 :)

I'm not sure what kind of motherboard the Asus A7V8X-MX is, but perhaps a bios upgrade is in order - there may be a modded bios available that will give you control of the CPU's multiplier, if you dont have access to it in your current bios

However, if you have a xp3000, chances are that it is super-locked from the factory and you'll have trouble with a FSB above 340Mhz - I was able to get about 360Mhz out of mine, but my Abit Nf-7 did 400Mhz dual channel, so I switched to the xp-m 2500
__________________
i7-860 @ 4.2Ghz (1.33v) EVGA P55 FTW SLI (E657-A51 Bios) Thermalright ULTRA-120 Trueblack Rev.C G.Skill Ripjaws 4G DDR3-2000 Antec 850W TPQ 2xBFG GTX280 1G SLI Acer X263W 25.5" LCD Crucial C4 256G WD FAEX 1TB LG DVDRAM GH20NS10 Thermaltake Kandalf case Windows 7 Pro x64

E8400 @ 3.96Ghz (1.42v) EVGA 780i A1 (P08) ZalmanCNPS9700NT G.Skill 4G DDR2-1000 eVGA GTX280SC 1G Windows 7 Pro x64 1xSeagate Barracuda 7200.11 500G
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2007, 02:52 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,576

My System Specs

Default

If it's an HP I'd advise against flashing the bios with anything other than HP's bios files.

Just because it's the same model # as a retail board doesn't mean that it's set up the same as the retail board.

I saw quite a few posts from folks who tried to flash MSI boards (RS480/482 if I remember correctly) in hp (or compaq) machines with MSI bios' who buggered up their systems.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2007, 04:34 AM
DerekOldschool's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If it's an HP I'd advise against flashing the bios with anything other than HP's bios files.

Just because it's the same model # as a retail board doesn't mean that it's set up the same as the retail board.

I saw quite a few posts from folks who tried to flash MSI boards (RS480/482 if I remember correctly) in hp (or compaq) machines with MSI bios' who buggered up their systems.

Sounds like more research is in order, K1llerInstinct.

sswilson has an excellent point - you dont wanna muck with flashing the bios unless you are certain you know what you're doing
__________________
i7-860 @ 4.2Ghz (1.33v) EVGA P55 FTW SLI (E657-A51 Bios) Thermalright ULTRA-120 Trueblack Rev.C G.Skill Ripjaws 4G DDR3-2000 Antec 850W TPQ 2xBFG GTX280 1G SLI Acer X263W 25.5" LCD Crucial C4 256G WD FAEX 1TB LG DVDRAM GH20NS10 Thermaltake Kandalf case Windows 7 Pro x64

E8400 @ 3.96Ghz (1.42v) EVGA 780i A1 (P08) ZalmanCNPS9700NT G.Skill 4G DDR2-1000 eVGA GTX280SC 1G Windows 7 Pro x64 1xSeagate Barracuda 7200.11 500G
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2007, 06:07 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

That's a kooky score Rob! Sure we'd list it (I'll leave it to superG) -- gotta give us something to dream about- what are you cooling with?
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2007, 06:31 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathspawner View Post
Don't include me if this is an unfair entry.

58577/40586.. CPU was about 80C when stressed. Stressing for over an hour will result in 90C+ temps though, but still retains perfect stability.

lol Nice score Death, Suicide runs are perfectly fine not looking for prime just the highest clocks.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2007, 06:37 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K1LLER_INSTINCT View Post
DerekOldSchool - I'm just wondering if my cpu is unlocked already. I don't want to really mess with it cause the motherboard was designed for HP so God knows what proprietary **** they have done with the BIOS.
Do you know the stepping? Any AMD past what 49/03 (?) was superlocked @ the factory. Except the mobiles.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2007, 08:19 AM
Deathspawner's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
lol Nice score Death, Suicide runs are perfectly fine not looking for prime just the highest clocks.
Haha, I am hoping to never suicide a CPU. I've killed other things while overclocking, but never a CPU. As for that overclock, it is actually fully prime stable, it just gets mighty hot. CPU seems to handle it well though:



Cooling is Corsairs Nautilus 500... great noob water cooling. Temps could be better, but my constant 80F ambient heat doesn't help anything.
__________________
Techgage.com | Editor in Chief

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.20GHz, ASUS P5K Premium WiFi-AP, OCZ 8GB PC2-6400, EVGA GTX 285 1024MB
Seagate 500GB, 750GB & 1TB, Pioneer 22x ODD, Corsair 1000HX, Thermalright Ultra-120, CM Storm Sniper
Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Ultrasone PRO 750, Gentoo Linux (KDE 4.4, 2.6.32 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter

Profiles: Last.fm | Xbox Live | Steam
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2007, 04:33 PM
DerekOldschool's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 93
Default

@ Deathspawner: nice your computer kicks ass

@K1llerInstinct: if you really cant do anything via the bios of your mobo, there's a program called CPU Cool that allows you to change the FSB and voltages from within windows. Obviously watch your temps and exercise the proper restraint when changing these parameters
__________________
i7-860 @ 4.2Ghz (1.33v) EVGA P55 FTW SLI (E657-A51 Bios) Thermalright ULTRA-120 Trueblack Rev.C G.Skill Ripjaws 4G DDR3-2000 Antec 850W TPQ 2xBFG GTX280 1G SLI Acer X263W 25.5" LCD Crucial C4 256G WD FAEX 1TB LG DVDRAM GH20NS10 Thermaltake Kandalf case Windows 7 Pro x64

E8400 @ 3.96Ghz (1.42v) EVGA 780i A1 (P08) ZalmanCNPS9700NT G.Skill 4G DDR2-1000 eVGA GTX280SC 1G Windows 7 Pro x64 1xSeagate Barracuda 7200.11 500G
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2007, 05:20 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default Sandra Benchmark

This is what I got when OC X12 and FSB=300:

Dhry: 65,231
Whet: 45,245
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2007, 07:02 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Screen Shot Required. Please Include Sandra Window, And CPU-Z CPU Window In All Screen Shots.



Just post up the screenie and I will gladly add you to the list.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9800gx2 Official Leaks At Cebit08!! vertex112 Press Releases & Tech News 13 March 10, 2008 06:13 PM
It's Official: Bungie Leaves Microsoft SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 5 October 8, 2007 03:47 AM
163.44 BETA official (from nvidia) Gamashinoch Video Cards 8 August 22, 2007 06:25 AM
early K10 sandra test Shadowed Rumor Mill 8 May 2, 2007 11:53 AM
Official Sandra CPU Multi-Media Top 15 Supergrover Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 March 11, 2007 10:30 PM