Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 04:12 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Look fine
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 07:05 PM
Snafu's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 175
Default

Are those temps at idle or under load? If they are idle temps then they look high particularly with a decent cooler. For load they are good. What are the difference in temps from idle to load on the two cores?
__________________
Newest system: Intel E8400, Gigabyte EP35-DS3P, OCZ PC2-9200 Reapers, Seagate 3GB/s HDD, etc.
Others are kicking around the house.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 07:50 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Gameplay what heatsink are you currently using to cool your cpu?

Are you putting any additional voltage into your E8400?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 01:17 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 267
Default

Well I curently have an artic cooler 7pro but I have an OCZ Vendetta on order to arive on monday or tuesday. I am putting about 1.272V to it (acoring to CPU-Z)

Temps are not under load

Last edited by Gameplaywarrior; November 29, 2008 at 01:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 02:59 PM
Moneyless's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 303

My System Specs

Default

For idle temps mid-40s is pretty high, good thing you've ordered that Vendetta 2 'cause it will do a much much better job then that Freezer 7 Pro. :)
__________________
"I hate broccoli
And think it totally sucks
Why is it not meat?"
-Deadpool
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 03:41 PM
Snafu's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 175
Default

Yeah mid-40's is high especially with an aftermarket cooler. What are the load temps like? There's been talk about sensors sticking so I wonder if your load temps are similar to idle temps (indicating stuck sensors). I have one that might be stuck and plan to update teh bios and see if maybe it is just a board issue.

Although I have seen better results with other coolers, the HDT coolers aren't too bad.
__________________
Newest system: Intel E8400, Gigabyte EP35-DS3P, OCZ PC2-9200 Reapers, Seagate 3GB/s HDD, etc.
Others are kicking around the house.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 04:09 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 267
Default

After some tweaking I got the voltage down to 1.3V respectfully as it varies with speed step. Thanks to my new heat sink which came friday (thay left it at my store as aposed to my house) It idles at 20C now and load is 43C. I am sooo pleased with the results now what do you all think?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 04:43 PM
Snafu's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 175
Default

Both cores running at those temps? That's good (presuming RT is ~20C)
__________________
Newest system: Intel E8400, Gigabyte EP35-DS3P, OCZ PC2-9200 Reapers, Seagate 3GB/s HDD, etc.
Others are kicking around the house.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 11:17 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 267
Default

well it was but the voltage is stable for only about 2hrs so I will have to bump it up some tomorw
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 04:26 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 15
Default

from my experience, the CPU shouldn't need 1.3v to reach 3.6GHz stable.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes