Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2007, 04:48 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default Installing faster RAM on BAD AXE2

Hi,
I previously ask the question about installing faster RAM (higher than 800 MHz) on my mobo. Someone replied that I could install a 1066 MHz memory and will work...

I just received 2 sticks of PC8500 at 1066 MHz. After installing and selected Automatique in the BIOS for the memory frequency, is seems that it is stock at 800 MHz!!! How can I make it run at 1066 MHz?

If I don't select Automatique, the higest choice is 800 MHz...
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz

Last edited by francois methot; May 9, 2007 at 06:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2007, 06:54 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

We need some more Badaxe users around here!- Misoprostol used to have one, but he's rusty on the bios. Very strange that you can't get it higher- the board will definately do it- just a matter of figuring out the settings. Hopefully someone will chime in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2007, 06:59 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Don't you have any memory divider setting in the bios ? If so, then maybe you could set the ram to run at a higher mem divider. Have you tried to play with the FSB to see if the ram will go any higher ?

I have no experience with any Intel board... So am just supposing.
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2007, 07:56 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriote View Post
Don't you have any memory divider setting in the bios ? If so, then maybe you could set the ram to run at a higher mem divider. Have you tried to play with the FSB to see if the ram will go any higher ?

I have no experience with any Intel board... So am just supposing.
lol same, sitting in the dark beside you.:help:
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2007, 08:20 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default

I attached 3 pictures that show I think all what I can do with this board.
In automatique, the bios detect only 800 MHz. In manual, I can choose up to 800 MHz.
I did push the FSB but had to stop around 335 MHz x 8 because of error with Prime95 and temps was going too high + Windows crash!
Next week, I will install a WC that I just received...

Is someone have experience with this mobo with memory higher than 800 MHz?
Attached Images
     
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz

Last edited by francois methot; May 9, 2007 at 08:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2007, 05:47 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Huh ? Thats wrong...

Ok first, the memory divider should be located in the CPU configuration page. Not in the memory configuration page. But it seems that it is located in there ?!

Is you raise your FSB, that memory frequency setting should go higher. Well, thats how it works on my P5W DH Deluxe mobo. Raising the FSB will raise the 1:1 mem divider as well. For example, if i set 400FSB, the 1:1 mem divider will be 800Mhz. If i set 450FSB, it will raise that 800Mhz. (Not sure how much thought)

And i don't get that reference frequency setting. It looks like AMD's mem divider setting would look like with DDR1 ram ?!

Im totally lost here. I hope that someone with more knowledge than me with that board can help you.
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14

Last edited by Patriote; May 10, 2007 at 07:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2007, 07:08 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

There should be a memory ratio setting- check in the FSB settings and in the CPU settings.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2007, 07:23 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
There should be a memory ratio setting- check in the FSB settings and in the CPU settings.
Yeah thats what im saying. But it seems to be located in the memory configuration section. Check the pics he attached. The memory divider is there. Well, it looks like a mem divider setting...
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2007, 09:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default

NCIX.com agreed to exchange my memory. That is very kind from them. I will exchange for some PC6400 4-4-4-12.

I don't think that mobo can run higher than that.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2007, 05:26 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

It does seem from reading around that maybe the memory isn't supposed to go over 800- can't imagine, though.

Here's a little bad axe 2 info thread in case you've never seen it:
INTEL D975XBX2 alias BAD AXE 2: INFO TREAD - XtremeSystems Forums

They have some good tables on that thread where they show speeds faster than 800 for that board so there must be some way to do it. Didn't bother reading the whole thread though.

Last edited by Babrbarossa; May 11, 2007 at 05:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing my OSX Leopard on a windos(PC lol) computer. belgolas O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 March 15, 2008 11:28 AM
Installing Windows Vista.... Supergrover Off Topic 6 June 26, 2007 02:31 PM
Installing 3rd Boot with VISTA 64 francois methot O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 May 31, 2007 02:15 PM
Dell installing Linux! Babrbarossa O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 29, 2007 11:52 AM
GDDR4 66% faster than GDDR3?? Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 4 February 27, 2007 09:19 AM