Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 08:56 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default Q6600 too much chip for a DS3R?

Just got a q6600 and was starting to OC it. Some quick trials got me 3.6GHz with I think 1.35V. It was up and running and folding fine, realtemp reported the cores were humming along in the low 40's. I thought I had a little rattle happening, it had a little bit of a hiss sound to it too so I was poking around inside the case and found out the noise was coming from the CPU area.

Using the Mk.1 Index Finger Temp Probe I just about lost my finger print on the SMPS parts - the little black cubes - inductors I assume. Seriously I really did burn my self a little. Yes I'd like a cookie and a glass of milk! I quickly shut the comp down and backed off on the OC to 3GHZ at stock volts and all is better now. Those little black cubes are still damn hot but I'm not getting any red squares on the end of my fingers. Now I know the discrete components can handle a good amount of heat, most MOSFETs are rated for 200C IIRC, but the noise... that's bad.

So... uhhh... this can't be normal can it? Do I need to get a mobo with a beefier SMPS?
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 10:52 PM
joeperson's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 238
Default

:( That is unwelcome news I haven't ventured beyond 3.2 with the same board/cpu. I hope it's not a thermal problem in the end.

EDIT: unless you're talking about the ep35 not 45 ds3r?
__________________
Q6600 3.0GHZ (9x333) stockV | ATI 5850 | OCZ Platinum 4GB PC2-6400 DDR2 5.4.4.15 1.9V | Silverstone Raven RV01 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Corsair Professional HX750W | Windows 7 | Crossbow mounted Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | LG W2242TQ-BF 22" | Samsung 2253BW 22"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 11:02 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

What case do you have? And what cpu HSF are you using?

What could be happening is your providing enough airflow to this air which is causing these chips to get hot.

So you have a few choices:
a) Get heatsinks for them
b) Get better air flow AND heatsinks :P

But no that chip should be fine for that board.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2008, 04:35 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

As enaberif said, the chip / board combo is just fine. The hissing sound you hear comes from the inductors, and due in part by the high temp and low air flow. I had the same problem on all my Gigabyte and Asus boards the second I started putting some load - even more so with a Quad sitting in the socket.

Solution? Again, heatsinks and good airflow. But even so the hissing will not completly be gone under load.

Now, on a side note: 3.6Ghz with only 1.35V vCore? Damn, that's low! I remember my Q6600s needing over 1.5V to reach 3.6...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2008, 06:55 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Now, on a side note: 3.6Ghz with only 1.35V vCore? Damn, that's low! I remember my Q6600s needing over 1.5V to reach 3.6...
I don't know how stable that was but it did fold for ~1/2 hour with no problems so at least it could be close. Looks like this chip might be a winner. I haven't looked too far into how far people are pushing these chips yet and what kind of voltage they need, but from what I've read a lot of people are happy just to get to 3.6GHz. I'd like to see 4.0GHz but I'm not holding my breath.

If that problem was just a thermal issue then I could come up with something, though air flow is pretty minimal in that area. There aren't any fans close by and the NB and CPU are on water so obviously no air flow from them either. My rig is VERY silent, I've had a few panic moments wondering why it wasn't running when I've been standing right beside it, just to find out it is on so that noise from the SMPS is unacceptable, easily louder than the rest of the system. So is a new mobo the only other alternative? Seems like a waste.

That said, this comb is fine regardless of the noise? I'd like to push this chip a bit and see what it can do but I'd really hate for the caps to become little projectiles or the mobo going up in smoke.

@joeperson, it's this mobo.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 01:25 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default

FWIW I stuck on some enzotechs on the inductors and added some airflow. As you said the noise is diminished but not gone completely. Though I'm now more comfortable running at 3.6GHz... and it been running/folding for days with only 1.375V. I think I'm at a brick wall OC wise though. I did a quick few trials and I think anything past this and it needs gobs more voltage to stay stable. I'll have to play some more though. I have access to a P5Q-pro that I might swap out for... just not sure if the PITA of a mobo swap is worth it in this case.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 01:44 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Overclocked 65nm quads wreak havoc of a board's vreg and it is going to run alot hotter than a 45nm duo. I think you will be fine with airflow and sincs and the P5Q will likely yield the same heat.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 01:46 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Yea, when I dont have a fan on my Vreg's the temps just continue to climb and climb...
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 09:13 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default

I switched over to the P5Q pro last night and the noise is gone. Well, it still makes a similar noise but I have to stick my head in the case to hear it. As a result I have the q6600 @ 3.83GHz right now with 1.45V IIRC.... goin for 4.0GHz.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 09:35 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Holy smokes, that's very good. Not too many Q6600s made it that far.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes