Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2008, 05:41 PM
chouchou's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 444
Default Do you link your FSB:RAM? What's your ratio?

From overclocking guides, I've read that to keep the stability/performance ratio at the highest a 1:1 ratio would be the best.

Do any of you link your overclocking? If so what ratio has been the best for you?

For me, I'm running a Q6600 which has a stock QDR of 1066. As for Ram, Ive got Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000's. A 1:1 ratio at stock would make me use my ram at almost 50% its capability..

At 3.2, on a 9x Multiplier, FSB is at 356, QDR 1422 which would leave my Ram mHZ by about ~700 at a 1:1 ratio.
Is it unsafe to run ram higher than the FSB ratio? For example, keeping the FSB at 356, and running the ram at stock timings 1000mhz?

Or do i have the whole overclocking concept wrong...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2008, 05:52 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default

What mobo are you using?

And you can leave your ram underclocked and try tightening the timings, or go ahead and bump up the fsb:mem ratio. Just try some superpi or everest benchmarks before and after.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2008, 06:30 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

I always aim for a 1:1 ration.

You'll see very little difference unless you push your entire system beyond breaking points in running anything else.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2008, 06:34 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

I think it really varies from system to system; I'm sure we could argue it all day; I've found I personally get better performance on this system if I'm unlinked - although a previous system I ran linked/synch.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2008, 06:48 PM
chouchou's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 444
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
What mobo are you using?

And you can leave your ram underclocked and try tightening the timings, or go ahead and bump up the fsb:mem ratio. Just try some superpi or everest benchmarks before and after.
evga 750i ftw!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2008, 08:18 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

I run unlinked so that I can get the most out of my Mushkins....I have ran some Benches both linked n synched as well as unlinked. I run FSB 450 Mhz (QDR 1800 Mhz), found slightly (vert slight) faster speeds running my Mushkins @ 1 Ghz unlinked instead of 1:1 @ 900 Mhz....
You just need to play around and note some numbers running Bemches to find what is right for you..
I know the BIOS of the 780 / 790 Ultra / FTW allows to set vDroop, can you do that as well with that 750i FTW?
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2008, 08:34 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Frankly your not gonna notice a diffrence in anything but benchmarks. That being that though, I run unlinked to get the most outta my sticks. I run my FSB at 400x8 for 24/7 clocks on my q6600 and my ram at 533(1066), or in otherwords with an unlinked 3:4 ratio.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes