Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2008, 09:20 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default Q9xxx OCing...join in with your results!

I got my new Q9550 a couple weeks ago...been fighting with it ever since :)


The gang gets together...the new guy is small, but he packs a punch.




Stepping, batch, & the other details.




Of course i got an E0





I was trying really hard for 4 GHz, but after spending the last couple weeks messing with VTT/NB/PLL voltages, & GTLs/NBGTLS, & CPU/NB skews, i finally gave up on that, as it needs more vcore than i'm willing to put into it.

3.95 GHz P95 Blend stable 8+ hours.




And 5 passes of IBT.




I'm not done with tweaking...will be working to lower voltages & work on RAM later.

My present settings though.


AI Overclock tuner: Manual
CPU Ratio Setting: 8.5
FSB Frequency: 465
PCI-E Frequency: 101
FSB Strap to North Bridge: 465
DRAM Frequency: 930
DRAM CLK Skew on Channel A1: AUTO
DRAM CLK Skew on Channel A2: AUTO
DRAM CLK Skew on Channel B1: AUTO
DRAM CLK Skew on Channel B2: AUTO
DRAM Timing Control: Manual

1st Information:
CAS# Latency: 5
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay: 5
DRAM RAS# Precharge: 5
DRAM RAS# Activate to Precharge: 15
RAS# to RAS# Delay : 3
Row Refresh Cycle Time: 60
Write Recovery Time: 6
Read to Precharge Time: 3

2nd Information :
READ to WRITE Delay (S/D): 9
Write to Read Delay (S): 4
WRITE to READ Delay (D): 6
READ to READ Delay (S): 5
READ to READ Delay (D): 7
WRITE to WRITE Delay (S): 5
WRITE to WRITE Delay (D): 7

3rd Information :
WRITE to PRE Delay: 15
READ to PRE Delay: 6
PRE to PRE Delay: 2
ALL PRE to ACT Delay: 7
ALL PRE to REF Delay: 7

DRAM Static Read Control: Disabled
DRAM Read Training: Disabled
MEM. OC Charger: Enabled
AI Clock Twister: Light
AI Transaction Booster: Manual
Common Performance Level: 10
All Pull-Ins: Disabled

CPU Voltage: 1.4
CPU GTL Voltage Reference (0/2): 0.680
CPU GTL Voltage Reference (1/3): 0.670
CPU PLL Voltage: 1.58
FSB Termination Voltage: 1.36
DRAM Voltage: 1.96
NB Voltage: 1.38
NB GTL Reference: 0.67
SBridge Voltage: 1.2
PCIE SATA Voltage: 1.6

Load Line Calibration: Enabled
CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum: Disabled
CPU Clock Skew : 100
NB Clock Skew : 200
CPU Margin Enhancement: Optimized
__________________
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2008, 09:34 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

I'd say that's close enough to 4.0GHz, remember the 5 or more you round up. so your 3.95 rounded up would be 4.0GHz.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2008, 10:20 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Those are some amazing clocks, hopefully mine will put up some numbers like that too. It makes me want my new system up and running grrr...I have an E8400 and Q9550 sitting under my bed just waiting to be overclocked. Once the HDDs get here I will finally be able to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2008, 11:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 179
Default

Congrats on 3.95ghz. I have my Q9550 at 3.61ghz - 1.3v on air cooling. I doubt I can get it any higher, I may try for 3.8ghz later in the week though.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2008, 11:44 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

I think with a little more voltage you'll get the same or pretty close. What brand of cooler do you have sitting on the top of it?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 04:13 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

Glad to see your having better luck than me. Even 3.2GHz hasnít ran more than a few days before crapping out on me.
Iím trying 3.01G now, 12hrs stable so far.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 06:25 AM
Sniper's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 700
Default

don't be afraid to crank the voltage. They'll handle it. I have a buddy here who has his up over 4Ghz stable on air. I'll let you know what he is running it at in abit once he gets online.

K one buddy had his at 4.5 stable on air with a CNPS9700 & I'll let you know what the other guy is running his at still.

Last edited by Sniper; November 4, 2008 at 06:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 07:22 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper View Post
don't be afraid to crank the voltage. They'll handle it. I have a buddy here who has his up over 4Ghz stable on air. I'll let you know what he is running it at in abit once he gets online.

K one buddy had his at 4.5 stable on air with a CNPS9700 & I'll let you know what the other guy is running his at still.
This is worthless without settings and system specs.

Here's what my Q9450 can do:

2.84 GHZ on Q9450

CPU Voltage: 1.3875
CPU PLL Voltage: 1.58
FSB Termination Voltage: 1.30
DRAM Voltage: 2.05
NB Voltage: 1.44
CPU GTL Reference: 0.63
NB GTL Reference: 0.67
SBridge Voltage: Auto
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 08:12 AM
Sniper's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 700
Default

I don't know the details but It isn't worthless to the point that it can be done. Which happens to be my point. & rather easily at that. If I had a half decent cooler till my water gear gets here I'd pop mine over 4 just to show you it can be done but I have shit for a cooler atm so it won't even be worth the effort of putting it in.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 08:41 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 207
Default lmao

wow i really dont see what the problem is that you can get it to over clock past 4ghz

its easy i did it on air and it was stable


here are some pics








super pi running with prime 95 running
stil got 12 seconds
__________________
CPU: Dual QX9775
MOBO:D5400xs
Ram: 4GB FB-Dimm
PSU:Koolance 1300 Watt
Graphics: Tri sli XXX GTX280 XXX
HDD:2 Supertalent SSD
LCD:24IN Samsung wide
CASE:TT Armor
Danger Den WC Setup
4 Pelts 226Watt
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes