Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 09:03 AM
probationer's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 123
Default

Yeah I bumped the volts up a load then was going to back them down again.

Will try a blend overnight. Yeah i'm aiming for 4Ghz mark so i'll have to start looking at the GTLs setting next.

I'm pretty happy with the temp , would be lower if i put the fans onto their 12V setting also.

Thanks for the feedback

Ok got the vcore way back down as low as 1.34 by bumping the VTT up to 1.43-45 and NB up to 1.40.

Just running some blends and IBT today.

Last edited by probationer; December 17, 2008 at 10:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2009, 05:31 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

There you have it 4GHz OS stable so far, still running prime95 small FFTs we'll see if that changes over the course of 8 hrs +. I have taken this cpu from 3.6GHz to 4.0GHz + so far with no adjustment from 1.4v my goal within in the next little while is a 500MHz FSB as long as I can keep the board stable.

I won't push CPU anymore I'd likely have to up the voltage and that would required better cooling, although lately the thought of an H20 system is rather intriguing. Damn it I knew it was only a matter of time before I convince myself I should go water.

Edit: CPU-Z Validator 3.0

EE
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Eagle Eye; January 18, 2009 at 12:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2009, 05:51 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

Let it run Prime for at least 6 hours (not 6 minutes), then I'll call it stable... ;)
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2009, 12:04 PM
probationer's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 123
Default

Oh knew i had posted somewhere a while back.

Passed 10 pass IBT # 3.85Ghz - 1.42vCore :) much better


Idle temp - 36/36/34/34
IBT temp - 59/59/60/60

Will do a P95 test shortly just to be sure its completely rock solid.

But so far has been a good 2-3 weeks with 0 error/crashes.

Temps using RealTemp 2.84

Last edited by probationer; January 18, 2009 at 02:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2009, 12:25 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Hey Probationer what are using to cool that chip?

Okay I am all confused now what temps should I be taking as most accurate, or should I just be concerned with the load temps?

CoreTemp reports my idle temps: 36/36/38/38
TJMAX as 100oC

While...

Real Temp reports my idle temps: 31/31/33/33
TJMAX as 95oC
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2009, 03:04 PM
probationer's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 123
Default

Water cooling with D-tek cpu block.

I've found RealTemp to give a better indication than CoreTemp. They both calculate the temp slightly differently from what I've read online (correct me if I'm wrong anyone).
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 10:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 17
Default

Real Temp defaults the Tjmax to 95 (should be 100; http://www.tomshardware.com/news/int...pecs,6517.html) which is why its temp reading are lower than Core Temp. You can change it in the Settings though and then both programs give identical readings.

Right now I'm Prime testing the system in my sig at 425MHz FSB, 8.5x multi, with a Vcore bios setting of 1.23125v. If that passes overnight I'll try and mess with vtt, nb, and sb voltages (they're on auto right now). This is my first time overclocking so I'm following the AnandTech How To Guide for C2Q.

I was just wondering though, is 3.6Ghz still considered a moderate OC? I'd be pleased if I get this stable but I don't want to push it too hard since it's my main system that I do everything on. Also, is it ok to continue using the computer for light applications (like websurfing or music) while it's testing? I'm assuming it isn't, which is why I'm writing this on my old laptop.
__________________

Antec Three Hundred |
OCZ GameXStream 600W | Intel Q9550 C1 @ 3.6GHz | Xigmatek S1283 w/ Thermalright Bolt-thru kit |
G.SKILL PC2-8000 2x2Gb |
BFG GTX 260 Maxcore OC2 | Samsung T240 24" | ASUS Xonar DX | Audio-Technica AD700
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2009, 05:06 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

The latest addition to the main PC.
Sorry about the pic size.

__________________
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes