Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2008, 07:32 PM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,977

My System Specs

Default

man, all on stock volts? I'm gonna have fun with this chip.
if 3.3 is good on stock volts, then I'm sure 3.6-3.7 wont be that hard to obtain... if I dont hit a wall when it comes to temps.... hopefully my TRUE holds strong on this Quad.
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2008, 07:57 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Oh yea.

A 20% OC is a gimmie on the core2 chips......my e6600 and my q9450 do it instantly.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2008, 08:07 PM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,977

My System Specs

Default

I wonder if you can get to 4.0 on air?
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 06:32 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

Mine so far, from 2.83GHz stock;
3.2GHz, its been running now 24/7 for 3 weeks okay.
3.4GHz, ran 4 or 5 days, but has crashed everytime when playing movies.
3.6GHz, ran a few hours to 1/2 a day, just random crashes.

I suppose I could tweak it some more, but I'm a little afraid to bump the
voltage too much on what is an everyday machine that I use for everything I do.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 08:33 AM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DK2 View Post
Mine so far, from 2.83GHz stock;
3.2GHz, its been running now 24/7 for 3 weeks okay.
3.4GHz, ran 4 or 5 days, but has crashed everytime when playing movies.
3.6GHz, ran a few hours to 1/2 a day, just random crashes.

...on what is an everyday machine that I use for everything I do.
If you use the machine for everything and have no backup system or archive of the OS, you should be more conservative of your clock. I'd say 3.2GHz is fine for that, especially if you are running stock voltages. Also, be sure you have all the power saving features disabled.

You could try right inbetween 3.2 and 3.4... like 3.33GHz. Basically, a 1333FSB (333MHz) at a 10X multi, but you only have an 8.5 multi? That'd be 392MHz x 8.5! 417MHz x 8x would also work.

How much voltage boost are you running? That chip should be OK at 3.4-3.6, with a minor to moderate vcore boost -- especially in that mobo. Check to see if you are running the latest BIOS update for that mobo too.

You have to determine if the instability is RAM, CPU, or NB related. You can do that by running Orthos or Prime95 in blend mode, and it should fail within 8 - 12 hours. Then run it in Small FFTs mode, if it still fails, then it is CPU volts or NB volts. If it passes, then it is RAM related and you should either up the Vdimm, increase the timings, or use a lower ram divider.

.
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 11:02 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

Thanks.
From memory I think I set vcore to 1.35 (+.1) and added .2 to fsb and the memory controller, and upíd the RAM to 1.9.
The ram is rated for 1600 anyways so I am actually under clocking it.
Just using memtest86 I can seemingly run 3.4 no problem.
Temps are no problem, nothing goes above 50C loaded, case ambient is 30C.
maybe the video gets higher but I havenít bothered to check.
Besides my crashing hasnít been loading related anyways.

The crashing with movies is a hint I think which relates to the use of extended
Multi-Media instructions in the CPU (MMX), which I donít have a specific test for yet.
(trust me if I wasnít so busy Iíd love to prove that)
Otherwise Iíd blame the NB / FSB, I do have a temp sensor attached to the NB heatsink fins but its never gone above 40C.

But your right it is a everyday/everything use machine so I shouldnít push too hard.
I just thought somebody might use it as a refenence here, but maybe one of these weekends I'll fiddle with it again.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2008, 05:22 AM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

Ahhh, K. Not the ram, although you can't be certain because the cpu/fsb speed and current mem divider maybe just not play well together. Also, many C2D boards have a FSB hole that simply refuse to work at certain speeds -- go beyond the FSB hole speed and it's OK.

Passing memtest is no garuntee it is stable. Only that errors in memtest is pretty much certain that Windows will be unbootable or unstable. Prime95 or Orthos is the best way to test stability within the OS.

Nevertheless, it does seem CPU related, and 1.35 vcore is quite mild. Give her 1.4V for a session and see if that clears up the crashing. Your cooler and temps are fine, another .5V won't be a problem at all. I run my E6750 at 1.45 - 1.5V to reach 3.8GHz on air, and CPU temps just start passing 60C load. That is pushing it for me, because like you this is my main work system, so that is kind of a suicide run for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DK2 View Post
Thanks.
From memory I think I set vcore to 1.35 (+.1) and added .2 to fsb and the memory controller, and upíd the RAM to 1.9.
The ram is rated for 1600 anyways so I am actually under clocking it.
Just using memtest86 I can seemingly run 3.4 no problem.
Temps are no problem, nothing goes above 50C loaded, case ambient is 30C.
maybe the video gets higher but I havenít bothered to check.
Besides my crashing hasnít been loading related anyways.

The crashing with movies is a hint I think which relates to the use of extended
Multi-Media instructions in the CPU (MMX), which I donít have a specific test for yet.
(trust me if I wasnít so busy Iíd love to prove that)
Otherwise Iíd blame the NB / FSB, I do have a temp sensor attached to the NB heatsink fins but its never gone above 40C.

But your right it is a everyday/everything use machine so I shouldnít push too hard.
I just thought somebody might use it as a refenence here, but maybe one of these weekends I'll fiddle with it again.
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 12:23 PM
probationer's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 123
Default

Currently running Q9550 @ 3.825Ghz still undergoing stress testing using P95 small ftt's so far 10 hours all good.

CPU-Z Validator 3.0


Will add voltages + screenshot when i get home from work.

I'm hoping to push it over the 4Ghz mark.




18 hours complete

Peak temps 57-57-53-53 from RealTemp mainly due to my room being closed off all day but meh well within safe limits .

Last edited by probationer; December 15, 2008 at 06:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 12:57 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

Holy 1.52 vCore?

That's really high for 3825 MHz...i highly doubt it needs that much, though wow, you have nice temps compared to what you'd have with air.

Just an FYI, you need to run Large/Blend for FSB stability checking.

Small FFTs really doesn't stress that; just the CPU.

You'll likely need to start messing with GTLs to get much above 450 FSB, otherwise no amount of voltage helps after a point.

For me, as soon as i hit around 440-445 FSB i pretty much had to manually set GTLs, or i couldn't get Blend/Large stable.
__________________
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 08:59 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

ya, Q9950 datasheet lists a Max of 1.45V core, but your temps are really good. What cooler?
anyways, I don't have the courage for going above spec. Depends how loose Intel is in posting their numbers thou.
good luck.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes