Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 07:24 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeroman_IR View Post
Q9550 C1 stepping @ 3.5GHz @1.225v here. Could get more, got this very easily but I was aiming for 3.5GHZ with this rig and I'm happy at that.
Nothing wrong with that.

I had a QX6850 @ ~ 3.6 GHz before, so i wanted better, but even a 3.5 GHz Q9550 is a beast of a chip :)
__________________
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 10:10 AM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Thank you for the reply, saves me typing a very similar one.
Ditto. The real stress test for me is to let my kid have the system for a month, and see if it had to reboot even once. Man, she is hard on a system!

Anyways, quick question:

I run an E6750 in an eVGA 680i SLI A1 (specs in sig). I would like to up it to a quad. Currently, the Q6600 has the best price, and should work best in my 680i. However, I have a couple of P35 boards, one of which I may move into eventually or possibly pick up a P5Q Deluxe or Premium later. I would then be moving the quad to the newer board.

I have heard that the 680i has problems with the newer 45nm quads, so had not really considered the 9xxx series till recently.

But the problems are only with overclocking, right?

Since I run my main rig at stock speed these days, I wouldn't have any problem running say a Q9450 or Q9550 in it, would I?

I could migrate the CPU out later, overclocking it then of course. If I get a Q6600, I would probably keep a mild overclock on it to at least meet or surpass what I currently have. I've no problem with that.

The problem would be migrating a non 45nm chip into one of my other boards, or a new one -- it won't perform as well as a Yorkfield. So if I got a Q6600, I think it would be pretty much welded into the 680i forever, and I'd have to get another quad for the migration. I don't have the money for that, which would delay things. LOL, I have $700 in wishlist crap before even thinking about a migration.

.
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 10:56 AM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

Dude, no offence. Judging by your rig pics and collection of benchmarks, you are no newb. You know what your system can do, and you have no need to prove it to anyone.

The overclockling scene has always had conflicting requirements as to what is proof in a given thead or database, sometimes super-pi is all that is needed, sometimes much much more. Nearly always though, stressing is run on all cores of a given chip, and a single super-pi on a multi core CPU is used for benching performance (not testing stability).

The requirements here are not specific, and only implied by the example in the first post. The sceptical responses to your screenshots are understandable I think.

Why not spend a bit of time, and rerun your stress tests on all cores using the latest Prime for at least 8 hours, and include CPUZ CPU, Mainboard and Memory in the screenshot?

I know I'd love to see them!


n7 also includes a complete list of BIOS settings, which is HUGELY helpful to others -- even if they don't have his exact mobo. While it's a bit of a PITA to initially create, I can understand when people don't bother with anything beyond the essentials. However, once you have the list you can put it in Excel and record all your overclocks in one spreadsheet, your benchmarks in a second sheet, and temperatures in a third.

I go so far as to make PDF worksheets for all my overclocking sessions, and custom ones for my favorite boards. I find it much more handy to use pen and paper which can easily be input later to Excel. It is much better than a desk covered in scrap paper with scibbled notes.

I used to work in PrePress and Graphic Design, these worksheets take me no time to create. I have binders full of these from over the years. I only keep Excel files for my main systems.

Here's a link to the PDF for my DFI P35, it should be workable for many of todays mobos:

DFI LP Dark P35-T2RS Bios & Memory Worksheet

Here's a screenshot for forum viewing:



If anyone would like a custom one I would be happy to make one if you can send me your BIOS's list of settings in a txt file or even post them here.

Personally, I usually include CPUZ in all my screenshots, no matter what the bench or stress test it is. Helps me to keep track of things. But sometimes I opt for Everest OSD, which can display all the info I need about the settings by simply launching one program after the benchmark. However, these are just for me... if I were posting the screenshot online, I would include CPUZ in all of them. I am fairly hardline about requirements too, I am of the school that likes to see 24 hours prime even though only 8 is required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by renoracer View Post
well here are all of my pics for that over clocking adventure




i think thats all i have

but hey i am full of shit

.
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 11:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle Eye View Post
I think with a little more voltage you'll get the same or pretty close. What brand of cooler do you have sitting on the top of it?
I'm using an IFX-14. These are my settings at the moment:

SB - 1.05v
NB - 1.35v
CPU - 1.28v

430 x 8.5 = 3.65ghz

I'm going to try and push it to 435 x 8.5 so I can reach 3.7ghz.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 07:24 AM
Brian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 323
Default

Man 3.95ghz on a Q9550 air cooled that's awesome! Nice job on that, must have taken a while eh?
Hope I can hit something that good when I OC mine with a Vendetta 2! Although I'd be uber happy with 3.5

How long have you been overclocking?

Last edited by Brian; November 28, 2008 at 07:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2008, 12:17 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian View Post
Man 3.95ghz on a Q9550 air cooled that's awesome! Nice job on that, must have taken a while eh?
Hope I can hit something that good when I OC mine with a Vendetta 2! Although I'd be uber happy with 3.5

How long have you been overclocking?
Eh, i really wanted 4 GHz, but it just wasn't happening within the voltage range i wanted to stay in, so sometimes you gotta settle

I've been OCing since my Barton 2500+ i guess, though i was a total newb back then.
I then had a s754 NewCastle A64 3200+...couldn't clock worth crap on the VIA chipset it was on though.
Next was a s939 Venice A64 3200+. I think i ran that one around 2.5 GHz
Toledo X2 3800+ @ 2.5 GHz
Toledo Opteron 165 @ 2.6 GHz (still have this one)
C2D E6400 @ 3.4 GHz
C2D E6300 @ 3.4 GHz
C2D E6600 x2, kept the better of the two which i ran @ 3.5 GHz mostly
Q6700 @ 3.5 GHz (now in my LAN PC)
E1200 Celeron @ 3.2 GHz
QX6850 @ 3.6 - 3.7 GHz (1.35v or 1.4v)
And presently, Q9550 @ 3.95 GHz

So yeah, i've done some OCing.

I had to learn messing around with GTLs for the Q9550, as i could not run them at auto once i hit around 445 FSB.
Much thanx to AT & XS posters' helpful suggestions on that one.
__________________
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2008, 01:18 AM
Neolithium_Wpg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lancaster Park, Alberta
Posts: 732
Default

This thread makes it so tempting to turn my Q6600 into a folding machine and grab a Q9550....must resist....

Good looking OC's btw! :)
__________________
Dell XPS8700 | Asus x101ch | iPhone 5 (iOS7)
A Veteran, whether Regular Force, Reserve or Retired- is someone who, at one point in their life, wrote a blank cheque made payable to the Dominion of Canada for an amount of "Up to and including my life"
-Author Unknown
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2008, 11:58 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Today I swapped out my E8400 and replaced it with my Q9550 this is what i have acheived thus far. I'll update as things change and hopefully it will remain stable while I sleep for 8 or so hours. Yeah pay no regard to the temps at the time I snapped the pic I was just starting prime95 so they aren't even at full load.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2008, 09:52 AM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,977

My System Specs

Default

I'm looking at picking up a Q9450 this weekend...
anyone know how difficult it would be to get 3.5-3.6 under a true?
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2008, 05:18 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Here's a copy/paste from my mini review , just to add to this thread.

I don't normally run OC'd but this was an 'FSB adjust only' Overclock. ( No tweaking , just to see what it could do)







-------

Folding stable.Not bad for 15 seconds of work.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes