Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 06:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 27
Default Need suggestion for OC

Hi guys,

I would like to push my PC a little more than I have today.

For now, my quad core q6600 run at 2.7 ( fsb 1200) and my memory Patriot DDR2 800 run at 900. I just push the fsb from 266 to 300.

I bought a kit of Patriot Extreme Viper ddr2 1066 5-5-5-15 for doing some test and I need suggestion because I'm a beginner in OC.

My board is a Asus p5ke-wifi, bios up to date.

I saw a couples of you guy's run a q6600 at 3 and 3.2 mhz without problem. For me, I'm stuck at 2.7 :(

What ca I do to push my cpu to 3 mhz with the 1066 kit? That what I want!

My cooler is a zalman 9500A led.

thank's!! :)
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3.0 mhz
4 gig Patriot Viper DDR2 1066 mhz
Asus P5KE-wifi
Palit Ati 4870 Sonic Dual Edition 512Mb
Seagate SATA2 16 MB Raid 0
Pioneer Bluray BDC-S02
Ati Tv Wonder 650HD
Samsung Syncmaster T260
Tower Antec 182
Antec True Power Trio 650W
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 07:01 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Surprised you're stuck there- What is the CPU voltage set at?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 08:17 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,830
Default

Set your cpu voltage to 1.3
CPU multiplier to 8
FSB to 400

See if that is stable.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 08:18 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,830
Default

Dont forget to set your memory to an appropriate speed too.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 08:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 27
Default

I have the q6600 steping G0 SLACR

I just use the FSB to overclock them! Everything is a automatic or default!

At 2.7 DDR 902 FSB 1200, the PC is OK! The problem coming near 2.8 and more! :(

I see you PC spec, you run the q6600 at 3.51!! Maybe I need to manage the voltages? Or play with the clock? The CPU clock is at automatic!

Thank's!
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3.0 mhz
4 gig Patriot Viper DDR2 1066 mhz
Asus P5KE-wifi
Palit Ati 4870 Sonic Dual Edition 512Mb
Seagate SATA2 16 MB Raid 0
Pioneer Bluray BDC-S02
Ati Tv Wonder 650HD
Samsung Syncmaster T260
Tower Antec 182
Antec True Power Trio 650W
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 08:27 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,830
Default

my q6600 is at 3890, but I run 1.5125 core volts and am watercooled, you don't want to go there.

I don't know of a single q6600 that wont run at 3.2 with the above settings.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 08:29 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
Set your cpu voltage to 1.3
CPU multiplier to 8
FSB to 400

See if that is stable.
PC not Boot, error in the configuration :(
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3.0 mhz
4 gig Patriot Viper DDR2 1066 mhz
Asus P5KE-wifi
Palit Ati 4870 Sonic Dual Edition 512Mb
Seagate SATA2 16 MB Raid 0
Pioneer Bluray BDC-S02
Ati Tv Wonder 650HD
Samsung Syncmaster T260
Tower Antec 182
Antec True Power Trio 650W
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 08:30 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by romeodelanoche View Post
I have the q6600 steping G0 SLACR

I just use the FSB to overclock them! Everything is a automatic or default!

At 2.7 DDR 902 FSB 1200, the PC is OK! The problem coming near 2.8 and more! :(

I see you PC spec, you run the q6600 at 3.51!! Maybe I need to manage the voltages? Or play with the clock? The CPU clock is at automatic!

Thank's!
If I had to guess, I'd say your memory at its current settings is holding you back. Not all DDR2 800 memory will do DDR2 900 speeds let alone above it.

You need to find the setting in bios to drop your memory speeds down.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 08:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
my q6600 is at 3890, but I run 1.5125 core volts and am watercooled, you don't want to go there.

I don't know of a single q6600 that wont run at 3.2 with the above settings.
I Just want to run a 3.0! I think my Zalman can do the job!
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3.0 mhz
4 gig Patriot Viper DDR2 1066 mhz
Asus P5KE-wifi
Palit Ati 4870 Sonic Dual Edition 512Mb
Seagate SATA2 16 MB Raid 0
Pioneer Bluray BDC-S02
Ati Tv Wonder 650HD
Samsung Syncmaster T260
Tower Antec 182
Antec True Power Trio 650W
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 08:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If I had to guess, I'd say your memory at its current settings is holding you back. Not all DDR2 800 memory will do DDR2 900 speeds let alone above it.

You need to find the setting in bios to drop your memory speeds down.

HA ok!

put the fsb up, but manage the ram at 800!

Hmmm.. ok! Strange thing in the asus bios, If I put the fbs at 1200, the ram set automatically at 900! So the best thing is to let the fsb at 1200 and set the ram at 800?
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3.0 mhz
4 gig Patriot Viper DDR2 1066 mhz
Asus P5KE-wifi
Palit Ati 4870 Sonic Dual Edition 512Mb
Seagate SATA2 16 MB Raid 0
Pioneer Bluray BDC-S02
Ati Tv Wonder 650HD
Samsung Syncmaster T260
Tower Antec 182
Antec True Power Trio 650W
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes