Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2007, 09:37 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Rather than start a new thread, I hope I can just tack this question on this thread since it's related- I have MemTest burned to A CD in .bin format- how do I use it?
You mean it's on the CD as data ? Or is the .bin image as been burned to the CD ?

If the .bin image was burned to the CD, then you simply hook it into your CD\DVD Rom drive and set your comp (In the bios) to boot from your DVD\CD Rom drive first. Then reboot and it should run Memtest86.
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2007, 09:40 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Thanks! trying it now.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2007, 09:47 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

No dice- the file ays it's a BIN file, but it won't boot from it- ARGH!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2007, 10:00 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
No dice- the file ays it's a BIN file, but it won't boot from it- ARGH!
What file ? When you burn an image to a CD, you should not be able to see the .bin file on it.

Do you have the .bin file on your desktop ? If so, use nero (Select the option "Burn Image to CD") and burn the image to a CD. Then, do as i said above and it should boot from the CD.
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14

Last edited by Patriote; May 2, 2007 at 10:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2007, 10:03 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bognostraglum View Post
Thanks for all the help and info.



Did this at first too, but thought it affected the test, so instead just let Orthos running and walked away from the comp... that is after checking to see the temps were ok.

Going to set the ram to stock and play around with the FSB and see how far it will go on air before instability.



The formula that I'm using is CPU MHZ = X/9*4 which tells me what to set the bios too.

Example 3.1Ghz is 3100/9 = 344.4*4 = 1377 is the number the FSB is entered in the bios

For the ram I just double the 344.4 to give me a 1:1 ratio

Is there another formula used that is easier?
I do the same when im stressing with Orthos. I leave the comp alone and just check temps from time to time.

Actually i don't know how you calculate this and don't know why your doing this calculation. Another formula for what
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2007, 10:19 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriote View Post
What file ? When you burn an image to a CD, you should not be able to see the .bin file on it.

Do you have the .bin file on your desktop ? If so, use nero (Select the option "Burn Image to CD") and burn the image to a CD. Then, do as i said above and it should boot from the CD.
Vous remercier mon ami !

EDIT: I just tried it and it seemed to install- but now I can't seem to figure out how to run it....DOH!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2007, 10:42 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Vous remercier mon ami !

EDIT: I just tried it and it seemed to install- but now I can't seem to figure out how to run it....DOH!
Heh! Seemed ton install ? EH ? You must not run it when in windows lol! It's a Bios based program.

Let me clarify things.

Ok, so you have the .bin file on your desktop.
Use Nero and burn the .bin file using the option "Burn an image to CD" in Nero.
When done, reboot, insert the CD into your CD\DVD Rom drive while it's rebooting and go into Bios.
Then go in the boot section of the bios and set your comp to boot from your CD\DVD Rom Drive first.
Save the change in bios and it'll reboot automatically.
Once it has rebooted, actually before it starts to load Windows, Memtest should start. You'll see a blue screen with options you can select with arrows and numbers on your keyboard.

Choose default tests and re-start the test\stress!

EDIT: Actually, you might need to push a button when you have rebooted to boot from CD... You know when it says "Push any bottuns to boot from CD....."
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2007, 10:49 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for your patience- I buned it on the cd- my cd is set up sa the primary boot device, i restart the computer and it goes through some sort of install process, but when it's done, I end up an an A:/ prompt- don't know what to do then- I just tried restarting, but nothing happened.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2007, 10:50 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Coast of Canuckland
Posts: 74
Default

If your burning to a CD you need the memtest86 iso img available here
MemTest

Be sure to download the ISO version. The others are for floppy or usb thumb drives. This may solve your problem.
__________________
Asus P5N-E SLI, Intel E6600, Arctic Freezer Pro7, Nvidia 8800GTS-320, 2Gigs Corsair XMS2-5400C4, WD 320 HD, OCZ GameXstream600W, Pioneer DVD-RW, CoolerMaster Centurion5 Case, Acer 22"WS 5ms
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2007, 10:52 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bognostraglum View Post
If your burning to a CD you need the memtest86 iso img available here
MemTest

Be sure to download the ISO version. The others are for floppy or usb thumb drives. This may solve your problem.
Ah yes! This will solve the problem! You need the .iso file... I'm such a dumb...lol

Get the .iso file and follow the steps i have written above ;)
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memtest86+ V2.00 beta Eldonko RAM 7 February 11, 2008 05:08 PM
memtest86 ram testing skyline510 RAM 4 December 14, 2007 07:54 AM
Strange Orthos behaviour Mibs Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 August 14, 2007 06:10 PM
Where to get Orthos for 4 cores? francois methot Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 March 17, 2007 11:14 AM
Memtest86+ v1.70 Released! Gav Press Releases & Tech News 5 January 18, 2007 08:05 AM