Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 06:36 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default overclocking e2180 on p5q first time. tips please!

hi, i am new to this site, had a hard time finding a Canadian computer site

i got a few questions about my overclock. i currently have my e2180 set to 270 FSB x 10 and ddr ram 807mhz, ram volt at 2.1.

on those overclock guides a lot of people recommend to put fsb: ram 1:1. so i was wondering would i get faster load time or better performance if i put the fsb to 400 x 7 to 2.8ghz. and what should i set the FSB to strap to? auto? or 200mhz?

i also tried 300 x10 and fsb to strap 400mhz, ram set at 900-910mhz (not to sure) and system wont post had to remove battery to clear bios. got a little scare there so i thoug i ask before i do more overclocking.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 08:07 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default

what is your cpu cooler??? your systeme wont post a 300 fsb beacause your ram is rated a 800mhz.. 900/910 is to high... you will need to drop your ram form 667 to 533 or maybe 400 (400 = 1:1)

im prety sure you can easily wit 300 fsb with your setup.. i hit 3.2 on a e2160 with an ultima 90 and 3.5 with a low end wc setup...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2008, 04:51 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

i see, i have set ram to 401mhz and moved fsb to 300. it had no problem :D thanks. i currently have stock cooler, will get the cheap arctic freezer pro in the up coming months.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes