Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2007, 03:41 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,500

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by francois methot View Post
I openned 4 instances of Super PI and set the affinity on each core.

No matther what I do, only one core is not in error. All others cores produces errors when they run at the same time. I tried 2, 3 and 4 instances and only one core give a good results. I can run stable for 4 hours with Orthos on all four cores???

...is Super PI a better tool for stability? One good thing will be that it can test in less than 40 seconds...(if I select 2M) compare to Orthos!
I would say if you can run 4 hours Orthos then your PC is somewhat stable. You really should be able to run 4 instances of PI if your PC is 100% stable. There are so many other factors, I wouldn't worry too much. But if you want to be sure of perfect stability, run Orthos for 24hrs+. That is the best proof of a truely stable system.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2007, 06:27 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default A multithreader superpi - wPrime

Here is a link to wPrime that runs a superpi using 1 thread for each core

wPrime Multithreaded Benchmark

A number of sites have setup threads in their benching sections with links to hwbots to setup team scores for benching.

eg here is one from OCF [hwbot] wPrime 1024m ranking - Overclockers Forums
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2007, 09:10 PM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

News - OCCT Website english

OCCT has quad-core support and is an excellent utility for testing stability
If your pc can handle a 30min blended burnin then it it is a good start. If it fails within that 30min there is no way it will be able to handle a gromacs core FaH client or Orthos 24
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2007, 09:28 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Thumbs up

Systools has a benchmarking program in it (PI)that allows single or all cores to be tested. I have used it with good results for multithread testing. Also Intel is giving out good literature on making multithreaded applications if you have those skills.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2007, 09:37 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Yeah to test a dual or quad properly you need 1 PI instance per core. If you get errors there is something wrong, likely mem related if orthos is clean.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2007, 09:42 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

yeah everytime I errored in pi it was because of RAM settings to tight or high.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2007, 07:24 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Make sure the super pi instances are separated into different directories!

2/4 instances in the same folder will error out.
__________________
00 - Sempron @ 2.4ghz| XP | Asus A8N-SLI | Asus 6200TC | 4x 500GB Seagates | 3x 250GB WD | 1gb POS RAM.
01 - E6300 @ 3430 | Water | XP | Asus P5B Deluxe | Evga 8800GTS @ 675/2100 |WD740ADFD + 2x 320gb eSata| 2gb Gskill HK 4-4-4-5 @ DDR2-960.
02 - Macbook Pro Dual 2.0 | Tiger/XP/Vista | Radeon X1600 256mb Vram | 1gb Ram | 8c Temp Drop w AS5.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2007, 02:18 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,951

My System Specs

Default

For ever SuperPi window open, you need to have a different copy of SuperPi open. Meaning each copy needs to be in a completely different folder. Otherwise it will always error out. And SuperPi is single threaded. It shows 50% on each core because that is what windows does for every single threaded application.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM vs Mhz for Multi-Monitoring Lyxtwing Video Cards 6 January 23, 2008 08:53 AM
Single vs Multi rail PSU's durdy Power Supplies 1 December 30, 2007 08:16 AM
ATI May Be Considering “Multi-Die GPUs” for R700 Family Shadowmeph Press Releases & Tech News 0 December 7, 2007 10:38 AM
Windows XP multi core optimization from MS Eldonko O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 October 1, 2007 07:35 PM