Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2007, 04:41 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,527

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by francois methot View Post
I openned 4 instances of Super PI and set the affinity on each core.

No matther what I do, only one core is not in error. All others cores produces errors when they run at the same time. I tried 2, 3 and 4 instances and only one core give a good results. I can run stable for 4 hours with Orthos on all four cores???

...is Super PI a better tool for stability? One good thing will be that it can test in less than 40 seconds...(if I select 2M) compare to Orthos!
I would say if you can run 4 hours Orthos then your PC is somewhat stable. You really should be able to run 4 instances of PI if your PC is 100% stable. There are so many other factors, I wouldn't worry too much. But if you want to be sure of perfect stability, run Orthos for 24hrs+. That is the best proof of a truely stable system.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2007, 07:27 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default A multithreader superpi - wPrime

Here is a link to wPrime that runs a superpi using 1 thread for each core

wPrime Multithreaded Benchmark

A number of sites have setup threads in their benching sections with links to hwbots to setup team scores for benching.

eg here is one from OCF [hwbot] wPrime 1024m ranking - Overclockers Forums
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2007, 10:10 PM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

News - OCCT Website english

OCCT has quad-core support and is an excellent utility for testing stability
If your pc can handle a 30min blended burnin then it it is a good start. If it fails within that 30min there is no way it will be able to handle a gromacs core FaH client or Orthos 24
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2007, 10:28 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 262

My System Specs

Thumbs up

Systools has a benchmarking program in it (PI)that allows single or all cores to be tested. I have used it with good results for multithread testing. Also Intel is giving out good literature on making multithreaded applications if you have those skills.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2007, 10:37 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Yeah to test a dual or quad properly you need 1 PI instance per core. If you get errors there is something wrong, likely mem related if orthos is clean.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2007, 10:42 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

yeah everytime I errored in pi it was because of RAM settings to tight or high.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2007, 08:24 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Make sure the super pi instances are separated into different directories!

2/4 instances in the same folder will error out.
__________________
00 - Sempron @ 2.4ghz| XP | Asus A8N-SLI | Asus 6200TC | 4x 500GB Seagates | 3x 250GB WD | 1gb POS RAM.
01 - E6300 @ 3430 | Water | XP | Asus P5B Deluxe | Evga 8800GTS @ 675/2100 |WD740ADFD + 2x 320gb eSata| 2gb Gskill HK 4-4-4-5 @ DDR2-960.
02 - Macbook Pro Dual 2.0 | Tiger/XP/Vista | Radeon X1600 256mb Vram | 1gb Ram | 8c Temp Drop w AS5.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2007, 03:18 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,099

My System Specs

Default

For ever SuperPi window open, you need to have a different copy of SuperPi open. Meaning each copy needs to be in a completely different folder. Otherwise it will always error out. And SuperPi is single threaded. It shows 50% on each core because that is what windows does for every single threaded application.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM vs Mhz for Multi-Monitoring Lyxtwing Video Cards 6 January 23, 2008 09:53 AM
Single vs Multi rail PSU's durdy Power Supplies 1 December 30, 2007 09:16 AM
ATI May Be Considering “Multi-Die GPUs” for R700 Family Shadowmeph Press Releases & Tech News 0 December 7, 2007 11:38 AM
Windows XP multi core optimization from MS Eldonko O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 October 1, 2007 08:35 PM