Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2008, 08:57 AM
g10 g10 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Default Recommendation on data partition within Vista64

I am currently building a HTPC and have a question for you guys.

I plan on adding drives to the data partition as needed and I want to be able to grow the partition over different hard drives. Should I just use the built in dynamic disk feature of windows or do you guys have other suggestions ?

sadly the ich10r does not do JBOD :/
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2008, 09:16 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Growing partitions is a crap shoot even with expensive controllers and pro software. I would not even try. How fast can you fill a terabyte drive and how fast do you plan to add them? Just add new drive letters.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2008, 09:04 AM
g10 g10 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Default

I can sadly fill them at a rapid pace. My problem with assigning new drive letters is just preference. I HATE HAVING TO LOOK THROUGH MULTIPLE DRIVES :D. Specially when lets say, TV shows, take more then a TB and you have the same type of data spread out. This is why I wanted to be able to grow over drives and just have a d: (data) partition that's nice and clean with generic top level domains: mp3, TV , movies etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2008, 09:39 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

The only other idea I have is a Drobo. It would be external storage but it presents itself as a single drive and you can just feed it more disks and it automagically deals with the file management. The reviews of the original were poor but there is a new one out now that is a lot better and has forced the price on the old one down.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2008, 09:51 AM
g10 g10 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Default

that is a very nice product, wish it was esata and not firewire 800. The only problem in my situation is my array is for an HTPC on an AV rack and I am trying to keep everything confined within the case.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes