Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 05:49 PM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default Buying OEM Vista

I'm looking to upgrade to vista for dx 10 and I was wondering what retailer's policies are on purchasing oem os's.
I'm not purchasing anything extra other than some more ram, so will I be able to buy OEM anyway?
I'm looking at Memory Express (edmonton specifically), Direct Canada, or NCIX.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 05:53 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,258

My System Specs

Default

I've never been denied an OEM version.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 06:02 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scart View Post
I'm looking to upgrade to vista for dx 10 and I was wondering what retailer's policies are on purchasing oem os's.
I'm not purchasing anything extra other than some more ram, so will I be able to buy OEM anyway?
I'm looking at Memory Express (edmonton specifically), Direct Canada, or NCIX.
Stores can sell OEM Windows perfectly fine.

What you as a consumer need to know is that version is LOCKED to the motherboard you have in your computer.

So if your motherboard dies and you buy a new one you can no longer use that OEM to re-install.

But hey we all know thats not true ;)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 08:11 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

Meh, you either call up MS or use an activation bypass ... Besides, you can buy 2 OEM copies for the price of 1 retail copy ... Odds are you're not going to have more than 2 mobos die before Windows 7 is worth upgrading to.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 08:46 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

You're only locked to the motherboard via the EULA. Calling them to reactivate is no problem.

Windows OEM no longer needs a hardware purchase. You can buy it naked.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 11:25 PM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default

Sweet thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 09:42 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Yea I always buy OEM. I remember several years ago they made you purchase some other computer part with OEM software but today it seems no one worries about it.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 09:59 AM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default

Wait a minute,
I just sent my motherboard away under warranty, so i'm on my old one.
And when I switch my motherboard back, I'm gunna have to reinstall vista and wipe the hard drive?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 10:19 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 84
Default

WARNING: Canada Computers has refused to sell me Vista OEM unless I bought a CPU and a mobo from them. They will, oddly, sell me XP OEM to me.

TigerDirect has almost as good prices and will deliver anything OEM straight to your door. I bought Vista Ultimate from them.
__________________
| Stock Q9450 + Noctua NH-U12P Cooler | ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Corsair TX750W PSU |
| Corsair Dominator 4x2GB | 1x Sapphire HD 4870 + ThermalRight HT-03 |
| Seagate Barracuda 500GB 32MB Cache | Samsung 2253BW 22" LCD |
| Antec 1200 Case | Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit |
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 10:35 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,428
Default

NCIX Hasn't ever refused me, I've even ordered copies without anything else!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes