Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 08:53 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Not on this rig. It's been built as a general use computer similar to the inexpensive big box HP/Compaq/Acer ones which are what the great majority of users need.

If I had any thoughts of it being a performance computer I'd fill the two memory slots with 2G sticks for at least 3.5g usable for Vista.

So far the most insidious complaint I have is the loss of my "up one level" button on my file folders, but that's probably just a matter of changing my preferences.
It's still there, in a sense ...

In the address bar, you can click any of the previous folder names to go back to that folder. Also, there's a folder tree on the left side where you can also access other sub-folders quickly and easily as well.



For example, if I want to go "up one level" to South Park, I just click on South Park ... But if I wanted to go back several levels, instead of several clicks, it's just one click by clicking on the folder name in the address bar or folder tree.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 08:50 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I already have a copy.. installed and removed.

It annoys me to no end.

I simply do not like the way it looks, functions and works.
Amen.
Ulimate 32bit shelfed and collecting dust.
HP 32 key also "shelfed" and collecting virtual dust.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 08:55 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

And that goddam annoying piece of crap "Burn" button

:anger:
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 10:26 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,700

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
And that goddam annoying piece of crap "Burn" button
See now, I can eliminate Mr. Burn Button. ;)
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 10:28 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacJunky View Post
See now, I can eliminate Mr. Burn Button. ;)
Exactly! Thats an OS that gives you the flexibility! And thats what I want in a OS flexibility and Vista does NOT have that.

Its like being made to eat puffed wheat without sugar.
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 02:14 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
And that goddam annoying piece of crap "Burn" button

:anger:
Google is your friend. :)
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 08:48 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars View Post
Didn't work. I tried.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 09:40 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

Every time I accidentally boot into Vista (x64 Premium) I find another reason to HATE it.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 09:27 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
Every time I accidentally boot into Vista (x64 Premium) I find another reason to HATE it.
Please start enlightening us on all these reasons :)
__________________
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 05:27 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

You asked for it.

- I recently removed one of my HD3870's, I boot into Vista, generic VGA no driver installed, I re-install the drivers, I have to reactivate Vista because my 14 days have expired!!! WTH I got this months ago
- Audio playback - awful, Xfi, so expected, at least the drivers install now
- Enable CF, Vista requires a reboot to work properly
- constant "Your system has recovered from a serious error" message on bootup, but Vista had been exited normally
- Can't read a Dynamic drive created in XP
- Got a new mobo. XP booted right up, Vista, went into a BSOD loop, couldn't even repair the install, had to do a completely new one.
- Install new Cat drivers with CF enabled, all ACTIVE displays get disabled, which forces a hard reboot to restore them
- search indexer thingy, you remove all items, and it still thrashes the HD for 5min after bootup
- UAC This is completely screwed up. I've wound up in ENDLESS loops trying to install Flash with this enabled.
- DVD playback
- WMP11
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes