Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 04:56 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,368

My System Specs

Default Programs That Choke Your Chicken

I'm sure that most people have run into actual programs that they have bought or downloaded that were as bad and hard to get rid of as any virus. For me two main things come to mind: Starforce Copy Protection & Norton.

__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - EVGA GTX960 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 05:03 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 920

My System Specs

Default

Man i couldn't agree more that starforce is bad stuff and norton to , I don't even like macafee/(sp)
i use Kaspersy my self:)
__________________
I USE EMT ONLY
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 05:21 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

Ah dude..... ANY Norton AV program is complete garbage. They couldn't detect shit if it was right in their nostrils, so to speak. Absolute resource hogs, especially Norton 360. The only good thing Norton ever came out with (and I really like and still use) is Ghost 2003 IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 05:26 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,368

My System Specs

Default

I spent my worst $50 so far this year when I "upgraded" to Norton 360. Got rid of it before I built this rig. Good riddance!
__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - EVGA GTX960 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 05:32 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,915
Default

Nod 4 life xD
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 05:40 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 15,285

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killswitch View Post
Ah dude..... ANY Norton AV program is complete garbage. They couldn't detect shit if it was right in their nostrils, so to speak. Absolute resource hogs, especially Norton 360. The only good thing Norton ever came out with (and I really like and still use) is Ghost 2003 IMHO.
Norton FTW, but I can't agree with your view on past Norton products.

There was a time when Norton Utilities was a must have application for anybody who knew how to do more than just turn on a PC. (Of course, we're talking back in the Dos/Win 3.1 days.... :) ).
__________________
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
Corsair 380T / Corsair H100i GTX AIO/ Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 05:44 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,368

My System Specs

Default

I agree with you sswilson about those days of yesteryear, but man I'll tell ya 360 really sucked.
__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - EVGA GTX960 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 05:48 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 15,285

My System Specs

Default

Not quite a virus, but more like a viral marketing scheme.....

I absolutely hate any toolbars (Google especially) which tag themselves onto freeware app installs!!! Sorry folks, I know that Google Toolbar exists, if I freaking want it, I'll go out and get it. (Can you tell I'm getting tired of removing it from other peoples' computers???? :) ).
__________________
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
Corsair 380T / Corsair H100i GTX AIO/ Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 06:05 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,873
Default

Google toolbar, MSN Toolbar, and Yahoo Toolbar....I always install stuff way too fast and forget to un check that...then I need to remove it. So stupid. Who actually uses that crap!!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
i5 4690K @ 4.5GHZ
SLI GTX 670 FTW
8GB GSkill Ripjaws X 2133MHZ CL10
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 240GB Patriot Blaze SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W1070 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block x 2, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 06:17 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,264

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
Google toolbar, MSN Toolbar, and Yahoo Toolbar....I always install stuff way too fast and forget to un check that...then I need to remove it. So stupid. Who actually uses that crap!!
MEh hate'em, I watch everything thats installed, format every 3 months or so......paranoid? Maybe
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes