Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2008, 12:19 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default No 4870 Drivers on ATI site


I just got my Visiontek HD 4870 and i went to download drivers on the ATI website but there is no drivers on their website. What is up with that how can they release a card and not have official drivers on their website


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2008, 05:32 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 4,018

My System Specs


Well there are drivers on the CD and you can download the new 8.6 hotfix or even try the leaked 8.7 but would trust it.

AMD Customer Care

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2008, 05:52 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,709

My System Specs


You want to use the drivers on the CD until there are official released versions on the ATI site.
Old: Dell 960 SFF Q9550/8GB DDR2/R7 250 2GB/Xonar D1/BT 4.0/128GB SSD/2TB HDD
Older: HP DC7800USDT/E8500/4GB DDR2/160GB HDD
Older still: MSI K8N NEO4/165/2GB DDR/700W PSU
Oldest: S478 P4/specs to come when I can work in it....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 05:01 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs


The drivers on the CD are the same ones as the hotfix on AMD's website. Search for 4870 hotfix on the main page.

EDIT: Go to my new thread I posted here in the driver sub-forum in case you haven't tried looking for them.

Last edited by bojangles; July 11, 2008 at 05:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 09:25 AM
vinister's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297

It is pretty silly that AMD can't even be bothered to add the new model numbers to their list, I have to agree.
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes