Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2007, 08:35 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,244

My System Specs

Thumbs up Vista Theme for XP

Okay first off I hardly ever use theme packs, I usually just do a few visual tweaks to suit my tastes, but while I dont care for the performance and gaming issues with Vista I do like the GUI.
A buddy sent me Vista Transformation Pack 6.0 Final and told me to give it a try.
I did and I am very impressed, the glass effect isn't perfect and I had to stop the widgets, I Fing hate widgets!, from loading @ startup but other than that its awesome, very close to Vista in GUI.
lol
It also changed my boot screen to Vista
Vista the way it's meant to be.
Give it a try if you want the new look without the BS.

__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton

Last edited by Supergrover; April 1, 2007 at 09:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2007, 12:31 PM
Brenda's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dartmouth, NS
Posts: 24
Default

I have that but can't for the life of me get my taskbar to skin. Don't know what I did when but it won't. Other than that, everything else skins for me and the glass look is cool... but XP FTW!!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]AMD Sempron, 3 HDs: 120 GB, 500 GB & 80 GB, 1 GB ram;
P-4, 3 HDs: 74 GB, 250 GB, 320 GB, external HD 320 GB, 2 GB ram;
Celeron, 2HDs: 80 GB, 100 GB, 512 ram;
P-4, 2 HDs: 120 GB, 80 GB, 2 GB ram;
Dual core laptop, 1 HD: 100 GB, 2 GB ram.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2007, 10:40 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

I tried it, it worked fine, but some of the components were very poorly coded, IMO ... Especially the sidebar ...

Instead, I just downloaded Yahoo Widgets! (which works awesome, BTW) and a not-so-legal version of StyleXP and a Vista skin for StyleXP.

Much less resource consumption, much quicker, and much less error messages (actually none since I switched).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2007, 01:00 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default i have the answer to all ur problems

i bought taht monthly pc pitstop or pc tune sumthing like that with the free disk inside it gave me a program that changes xps interface to match vista i want to upload it to everyone on here . how can i do taht??atacked file?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2007, 10:03 PM
hausner's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 312

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid-X View Post
i bought taht monthly pc pitstop or pc tune sumthing like that with the free disk inside it gave me a program that changes xps interface to match vista i want to upload it to everyone on here . how can i do taht??atacked file?
upload here:

RapidShare: 1-Click Webhosting

or here:

zSHARE - Free Image, Video, Audio, Flash and File Hosting


Thanks!
__________________
|::|CPU: i7 920 "D0"@?|::|MOBO: EVGA Classified|::|RAM: 6GB G.Skill Trident ddr3|::|GPU: BFG GTX 275|::|HDD: 2xSamsung F1 1TB|::|PSU: Ultra X3 1000W|::|Sound: Xonar DX|::|Powered by Heatkiller 3.0 LT/EK GTX275/EK Classified/Feser One X-360 TFC|::|Silverstone TJ 07
LCD: Samsung T260 25,5|::|Logitech Z5500
Project: Classified by Hausner - work in progress.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 10:08 PM
Jarod888's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
Default

It is up to version 7 now. I am going to try it, after I set a restore point. I don't want the hassle of re formatting just yet to get rid of it if it sucks. I will be doing a complete reinstall and rebuild soon enough. I'll check this out for a while.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2007, 06:33 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarod888 View Post
It is up to version 7 now. I am going to try it, after I set a restore point. I don't want the hassle of re formatting just yet to get rid of it if it sucks. I will be doing a complete reinstall and rebuild soon enough. I'll check this out for a while.

downloading version 7 right now... ill give it a shot.... hopefully nothing goes wrong


thanks for the link, its appreciated....
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2007, 05:33 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

I recieved some error about a DLL file... I need to remove it or something.... son't like where this is headiing already....LOL
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2007, 05:34 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid-X View Post
i bought taht monthly pc pitstop or pc tune sumthing like that with the free disk inside it gave me a program that changes xps interface to match vista i want to upload it to everyone on here . how can i do taht??atacked file?

could consider using it if the file got uploaded..... any luck?
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2007, 11:36 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default ok

Quote:
Originally Posted by frosty View Post
could consider using it if the file got uploaded..... any luck?
i will uplaod it later today got a few errands to run first


P.S this is the final copy here is a screenshot of my desktop is this what u guys are looking for?? no sereal or key required full version
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Rapid-X; August 26, 2007 at 02:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes