Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 08:03 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default Uninstall Linux

Hello,

A few months ago I installed Linux on an old HDD that I put in my current computer. However, the HDD is old and I fear it will crash eventually, already sometimes I get weird crash at startup once a week, so I can boot my computer unless both HDD work fine.

Can I uninstall Linux without having to reinstall Windows.

I am running XP.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 08:41 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilauea View Post
Hello,

A few months ago I installed Linux on an old HDD that I put in my current computer. However, the HDD is old and I fear it will crash eventually, already sometimes I get weird crash at startup once a week, so I can boot my computer unless both HDD work fine.

Can I uninstall Linux without having to reinstall Windows.

I am running XP.
Thanks
Delete partition and get a program to resize partitions to allow you to gain all space back for XP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 09:37 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Since it is probably using grub you'll have to boot up into the recovery console and use fixboot and fixmbr.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2008, 05:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
Since it is probably using grub you'll have to boot up into the recovery console and use fixboot and fixmbr.
How would I do that ?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2008, 10:21 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Use Mbr Fix to fix boot record first. I used it on my Vista 64 system, worked great. Run from cmd in Windows.

Download here:
Download

Instructions here:
MBR Fix - Fix MBR problems

Now Grub is no longer on your boot record. Your PC will boot straight to Windows.

Vista has it's own partition manager built in, but you're running XP so use Partition Magic or Acronis to delete/expand partition.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes