Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2014, 04:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,845

My System Specs

Default Fresh windows install on my laptop advice?

So I have an SSD on the way that I will be putting in my laptop, but I can honestly say I have never done a fresh windows install on a laptop.

Other than getting drivers from the acer website is there anything else to consider that might cause me issues?

Also, the laptop didn't come with a disk, but has win7 64 bit on it. (Code on the bottom ). I have a win 7 64 bit disk for my desktop. Any reason that I can't use that disk and just enter the code from the laptop ?

Very basic questions for many people I am sure, but other than replacing hardware I don't have much laptop experience.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2014, 05:31 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,045

My System Specs

Default

There should be a recovery partition on the laptop hard drive that you can transfer to the SSD.
Then update all drives on ACER site or hardware manufactures site.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2014, 05:44 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,415

My System Specs

Default

You probably also have the option of burning the install disks as well. I'd recommend doing that first just in case the recovery partition doesn't transfer over properly.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2014, 06:43 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,845

My System Specs

Default

So you recommend copying the recovery partition to the ssd and the using that? No clean install?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2014, 06:52 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,045

My System Specs

Default

There should be a ( Clean Install ) factory reset partition on the laptop. If you want you can go back to that.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2014, 03:31 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,845

My System Specs

Default

Ok so I guess I will just go back to the factory (clean ) setup, and not do a completely fresh install.

What's the easiest way of transferring the file, and which one would it be? I know there is a recovery partition. I would guess just pull the drive out and connect it and the new ssd to my desktop and then transfer between them? Then install the ssd and run what has been copied? Will that work? Is there an easier way?


As I said before I have no experience with laptop software and haven't done a windows install without it being a clean install with a windows disk.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2014, 08:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

The key on the bottom of the laptop will only work with the recovery partition install. Using a different media (the one from your pc) will not work. There are other ways to make this work, but as SSWilson said, best to create those recovery disks and boot from them. Just remember to keep the original drive nice and safe incase something goes wrong...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2014, 10:40 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marty007 View Post
The key on the bottom of the laptop will only work with the recovery partition install. Using a different media (the one from your pc) will not work. There are other ways to make this work, but as SSWilson said, best to create those recovery disks and boot from them. Just remember to keep the original drive nice and safe incase something goes wrong...
Once those disks are created (and backed up if you wish) they will restore any new HDD/SDD to factory defaults including a new recovery partition. There should be something under Start / Acer to create them.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2014, 11:08 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,306

My System Specs

Default

honestly I would back up which ever programs and other files( I usually copy my ( in my case) C:\Users\Lap\AppData folder so that my setting for which programs I am using are saved then do a total fresh install then update the fresh install that way every thing has allot better chance of working properly try to avoid any acer programs unless you really need them like wifi drivers or something like that , I say this because companies like Dell and the like usually load a whole pile of crap that isn't needed I have the feeling that Acer might also. then you have to think of how far behind the companies drivers might be.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2014, 12:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,845

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
honestly I would back up which ever programs and other files( I usually copy my ( in my case) C:\Users\Lap\AppData folder so that my setting for which programs I am using are saved then do a total fresh install then update the fresh install that way every thing has allot better chance of working properly try to avoid any acer programs unless you really need them like wifi drivers or something like that , I say this because companies like Dell and the like usually load a whole pile of crap that isn't needed I have the feeling that Acer might also. then you have to think of how far behind the companies drivers might be.
That is why I was going to do a fresh install. I know when I got the laptop I spent atleast an hour deleting junk. But if I have to do a recovery to make the windows key work I guess I will have to deal with it. Someone mentioned before that I can't use my own windows disk and the windows key on the laptop for a fresh install.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fresh SSD Boot drive install suggestions Alwaysrun Storage 11 October 12, 2012 07:41 AM
fresh install advice with revo + F90 + 2TB wess88 Storage 2 July 18, 2011 05:09 PM
going from intel to amb do I need fresh install windows 7? Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 11 May 6, 2010 10:24 AM
Fresh Win7 Install on SSD Hunt Storage 8 April 11, 2010 05:27 AM
Formatting. Install Windows XP or Windows 7 geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 29 July 7, 2009 02:32 PM