Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 01:45 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Burlington, On
Posts: 607

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sakage.shinga View Post
Seems to be. I'm still going to put the dimms in the right slots though. Do I need to reapply thermopaste if I'm on taking the D14 off briefly?
shouldn't need to really but it'll give you a good chance to make sure you got good coverage the first time, take note of any bare / too thin spots and top them up with a tiny bit of TIM then reapply the D14
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 02:34 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Here's something interesting. I'm flipping through the manual for my Z87 Sabertooth, and it actually shows that the "recommended memory configuration" is having dimms a2 and b2 occupied in two dimm situations....

Anyone know why that is?
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 03:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sakage.shinga View Post
Here's something interesting. I'm flipping through the manual for my Z87 Sabertooth, and it actually shows that the "recommended memory configuration" is having dimms a2 and b2 occupied in two dimm situations....

Anyone know why that is?
Presumably the MB traces are more direct for A2/B2. It also lists single DIMM use for A2.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Build Ready] fapping station/ gaming tyguy385 New Builds 13 June 25, 2013 07:04 AM
Am I ready for a new build? dlpowered89 New Builds 11 February 12, 2012 12:14 PM
7 years later... ready for another build. Peanutmc New Builds 17 August 30, 2010 03:07 PM
Im ready to build a nice rig but..... Would New Builds 14 August 19, 2010 02:11 PM
New Build - Ready to purchase tnorcan New Builds 6 July 29, 2010 11:35 PM