Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2014, 07:19 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 447

My System Specs

Default Windows 8 Tile Making Utility OblyTile

OblyTile

For Win8 users this is a handy dandy utility that lets you create tiles for use on the Start Menu.

Using a screen shot I had taken in X-Plane I created a wide tile for the program.



It is my first effort and now that I know what I'd use the image for I'll take a few more screen shots in the program until I get one I like better. But this is a relatively easy to use program.

I was looking for Windows 8 Start Menu utilities that might make managing the tile easier. I did stumble upon a way to make a back up copy because it is so easy to mess up the layout and once messed up it is a tedious process to move the tiles back where you want them. I have them all grouped across three screens. Move one tile the wrong way and they get all bunged up.

You do need to "export" the tiles once you are done to find them.

I also created a tile that opens up my collection of PDF files, it is just opens up a folder but it was easy to do and it is one click to get to all my saved manuals and PDF docs.

Recommend this niffty little FREE utility.
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2014, 07:23 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 447

My System Specs

Default

FYI the link to how to save a back up of your tile layout once you are happy with it ... go HERE
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2014, 11:16 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

I used win8 on my laptop for a few moths and it still sucks and actually broke and wasn't recoverable I went back to win7 .
is there any other programs that utilty makes you install like tool bars for webbrowsers or the like?
I still have windows 8 install on my old intel p35 pc I might try this out on it
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2014, 04:27 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 447

My System Specs

Default

I'm using Display Fusion - good Win8 utility that brings lots of Win7 features to Win8 - and a real bonus to manage multiple monitors (not an issue for most laptops I suspect - but who knows - dock it to a desk with another monitor and there you go.
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2014, 05:37 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

Did you try upgrading to 8.1? I still absolutely detest 8 vanilla, but 8.1 is growing on me.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2014, 08:46 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 447

My System Specs

Default

Using Win 8.1 - upgrade was painless - download took a while on my rural internet but it seems pretty stable now.
By going to Display Fusion I'm not sure what is Win 8.1 and what is a DF upgrade anymore - but I'm spending way more time in Win8 than I did before.
Some games still don't like it though. Tried M.S. Flightsim X "Gold" Accelerated version - still crashes after a few minutes of play. "Fatal Error" - are their any other kind?
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BF3 Config Utility Mishtar Gaming 7 December 11, 2011 09:54 PM
SSD reformat and OS install. Should I have used the OCZ utility? JayDeeHobbit Storage 0 November 5, 2011 06:06 PM
What utility use for check VRM Temps on GTX 480 botat29 Video Cards 7 October 17, 2010 07:51 AM
GA-P35-DS3L, @Bios utility? Evilyeti CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 15, 2008 03:17 PM
what is a good HDD SMART utility? the_bandit87 Storage 1 April 28, 2008 05:06 AM