Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2013, 11:37 AM
OJX OJX is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Clarification: I'll dual-load it, and select it through my UEFI bios
Just didn't want anyone to accidentally wipe their hard drive thinking they can dual-boot.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2013, 12:11 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Looks like a fun thing to tinker with if you have the hardware for it.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2013, 07:56 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,714
Default

The no Streaming, and No AMD cards means that I am going to wait a while still.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2013, 02:49 PM
JohnWayne's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: US - Massachusetts
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

I don't see why you couldn't drop to a command prompt and load the AMD drivers from there. After all it's based on Debian 7.1 Wheezy Stable Branch and AMD works on that. It just won't auto update with the rest of the system until the driver is officially in the SteamOS repo.

Edit: AMD does seem to be in the initial beta. But you probably have to set Xorg up yourself.
[Phoronix] SteamOS Compositor Details, Kernel Patches, Screenshots

The Windows Streaming is a different story..

Last edited by JohnWayne; December 15, 2013 at 02:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2013, 05:12 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnWayne View Post
I don't see why you couldn't drop to a command prompt and load the AMD drivers from there. After all it's based on Debian 7.1 Wheezy Stable Branch and AMD works on that. It just won't auto update with the rest of the system until the driver is officially in the SteamOS repo.

Edit: AMD does seem to be in the initial beta. But you probably have to set Xorg up yourself.
[Phoronix] SteamOS Compositor Details, Kernel Patches, Screenshots

The Windows Streaming is a different story..
I'm sure there is a ton you could do with this os but being how they limited it to the way they did really makes it not want a lot of people to try it.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2013, 05:19 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

you can dual boot any OS that supports PC sometimes you might have to use a live OS to set it up or a second drive in which you disconnect the main drive install other OS then reconnect the main drive
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2013, 05:23 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
you can dual boot any OS that supports PC sometimes you might have to use a live OS to set it up or a second drive in which you disconnect the main drive install other OS then reconnect the main drive
I am well aware as are most people about dual booting but its really a pain in the ass for the most part.

This is why using it in a virtualbox to first try it is the best route but we can't even do that.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2013, 05:58 PM
JohnWayne's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: US - Massachusetts
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

You might want to try setting the USB Image/Stick up as a RAW disk.
Boot your USB Drive in VirtualBox | AgniPulse

================================================== =

In all honesty there's not a whole lot to see. It's a Linux LTS kernel, xcompmgr, Video Card drivers and the Steam Client.
They've made it in such a way so it's easy to boot on to a new steambox build.

It would be much easier dual booting Ubuntu LTS or Mint and adding the Steam Client if you were on an existing machine. End result is the same. You get access to 432 odd linux titles and Big Picture Mode and a Gnome 3 desktop. For the curious minds -> Hands On With The SteamOS Beta | OMG! Ubuntu!

Nobody's missing out on anything. The controller and the Streaming is a HUGE piece of the puzzle. Until then no worries.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2013, 07:05 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,602

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnWayne View Post
You might want to try setting the USB Image/Stick up as a RAW disk.
Boot your USB Drive in VirtualBox | AgniPulse

================================================== =

In all honesty there's not a whole lot to see. It's a Linux LTS kernel, xcompmgr, Video Card drivers and the Steam Client.
They've made it in such a way so it's easy to boot on to a new steambox build.

It would be much easier dual booting Ubuntu LTS or Mint and adding the Steam Client if you were on an existing machine. End result is the same. You get access to 432 odd linux titles and Big Picture Mode and a Gnome 3 desktop. For the curious minds -> Hands On With The SteamOS Beta | OMG! Ubuntu!

Nobody's missing out on anything. The controller and the Streaming is a HUGE piece of the puzzle. Until then no worries.
Bingo.

Like I said earlier, everyone is getting their Pereniumenums Moms Panties in a knot over a B E T A.

When did beta's become a right? It wasnt that long ago that the common public didnt even hear about a beta, let alone get to participate in it. Sheesh, the sense of entitlement today
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2013, 09:06 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

For those of you that just HAVE to run the Beta and dual boot windows: How to stick Windows on your Steambox (it?s pretty straightforward) | Ars Technica
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes