Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2013, 07:57 AM
JohnWayne's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: US - Massachusetts
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

Regardless of the fact that Windows sees all 8GB. I'd rerun memtest86+ now that the PC says it can use 7GB. Still sounds like there's a partially faulty stick between the pair to me.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2013, 08:34 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

I told him when he gets a chance to boot up his computer with an individual stick installed, run Memtest86 and to repeat that with all 4 sticks until he finds the faulty one.

Still curious as to why his OS is using up so many resources though. My rig at home doesn't use even 1.5GB of memory after boot-up. My work computer is the same way, it doesn't use even 1GB of memory after boot.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2013, 08:51 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

His rig is doing something, look at that massive cpu and ram usage. Have him open that processes tab again in task manager and then click on the "show processes from all users" button at the bottom.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Hardrive Problem: Freezing, Slow, Not Recognizing hen555 Troubleshooting 4 May 10, 2012 04:46 PM
1GB RAM 64Bit W7 RC BobbyLou O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 June 11, 2009 04:32 AM
XP-64bit or Vista-64bit or Windows 7 beta?- new gaming rig Ruff_Ryda New Builds 13 April 25, 2009 05:54 PM
does your vista 64bit comes with hohohee O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 April 23, 2009 08:48 PM
32bit Vs 64bit XP enzeo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 September 28, 2007 01:53 PM