Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2013, 06:03 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default Windows 8 and your BIOS

Apparently with activiation 3.0 if your system doesn't have a COA sticker on it the key is locked into your bios!

Enjoy.

Windows 8 moves to BIOS-based product keys | Windows 8 - CNET Reviews
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2013, 06:06 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default

Just saw this in the other thread... it's dated November 2012... how the h e double hockey sticks did that slip by without being common knowledge?

I wonder if this is why the OEMs which still offer win7 are actually using win8 pro media and then downgrading it to win7?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2013, 06:11 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

I am honestly not sure this managed to completely slip by under the radar.. but damn is it going to be a pain in the ass for technicians.

Apparently Jellybean just become a much sought after tool.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2013, 06:20 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default

Win - Win for OEMs and M$....

Clean installs with standard media won't be possible so you'll be stuck with all of the OEM's crapware............
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2013, 06:24 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Win - Win for OEMs and M$....

Clean installs with standard media won't be possible so you'll be stuck with all of the OEM's crapware............
I posted a possible fix in that other thread and I'm curious if it would work.

But yes this is jus bigger money grab for the likes of Microsoft with OEM manufacturers.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2013, 06:58 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default

We seemed to have carried on the discussion in the other thread so if anybody wonders what was said it can be found here..... ;)

Windows 8, ssd and Dell
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2013, 07:07 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, though if you have proper media, it should grab the key for you and install without issue. Technically speaking it should make life easier for everyone.

But regardless, there's always ways around it. There's generic keys you can use to get Windows installed and running, and then change the key within Windows. Likewise, tools like RWEverything is able to read the key in the BIOS too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updated bios, now can't boot computer to my windows install Jesb Troubleshooting 9 October 16, 2013 09:55 AM
Windows 8 can block the BIOS ? botat29 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 15 March 10, 2012 09:39 PM
Windows 7 Fails to boot with USB Controller Enabled in bios!!! chibi_man Troubleshooting 17 May 30, 2010 06:45 PM
Keyboard won't work in BIOS.. Works in Windows MorePower Troubleshooting 5 March 26, 2010 08:41 AM
Hard drive not seen by windows/ can't assess the BIOS Butkick Troubleshooting 1 March 1, 2010 04:43 PM