Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2013, 09:32 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 283

My System Specs

Default

Will my current rig have enough power to run Plex, sabnzb and scripts all at the same time?
__________________
Goto Geek for family and friends, yay!!!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2013, 10:18 AM
the_guitarboy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 77

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wedge22 View Post
Will my current rig have enough power to run Plex, sabnzb and scripts all at the same time?
Easily, I have a Core 2 Duo @ 2.1Ghz w/4GB Ram running SabNZB, Couchpotatoe, Headphones and PS3 MediaServer. I can download/unpack with SAB no problem while watching a BluRay transcoded to my PS3. Oh, and it hosts a 5 person Minecraft server!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2013, 12:06 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

off topic

This might be asilly question but what is a PS3 MediaServer
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2013, 12:20 PM
the_guitarboy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 77

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
off topic

This might be asilly question but what is a PS3 MediaServer
PS3 Media Server

It allows me to stream/transcode video/audio formats from my media server to the PS3 that the PS3 cannot natively handle i.e. MKV files.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2013, 01:22 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,603

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_guitarboy View Post
PS3 Media Server

It allows me to stream/transcode video/audio formats from my media server to the PS3 that the PS3 cannot natively handle i.e. MKV files.
It also works for streaming to an Xbox 360 or other devices that can't natively handle mkv. I've been using it with my 360 for some time now and it's great until I get an htpc system at some point in the future (eventually)...
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2013, 02:01 PM
the_guitarboy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 77

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
It also works for streaming to an Xbox 360 or other devices that can't natively handle mkv. I've been using it with my 360 for some time now and it's great until I get an htpc system at some point in the future (eventually)...
Yup, pretty any device that has DLNA capabilities. It is a great little piece of software. It's saved me from the need to buy a HTPC as most of my content is MKV
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2013, 03:30 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 283

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all of the advice so far guys.

Would it be possible to remove the 2x HHD from my DNS323 and just put them into the Windows media server without having to format them, they currently hold a lot of data, they are not configured in RAID in the NAS?

I was also thinking that the new Roku 3 might be worth buying instead of a PC for playing the media and just using Plex on it.
__________________
Goto Geek for family and friends, yay!!!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2013, 04:49 PM
the_guitarboy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 77

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wedge22 View Post

Would it be possible to remove the 2x HHD from my DNS323 and just put them into the Windows media server without having to format them, they currently hold a lot of data, they are not configured in RAID in the NAS?

.
Should work no problem.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2014, 12:56 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 283

My System Specs

Default

I just wanted to say that I did build myself a custom NAS/Media Server inside a used Silverstone Grandia case which I got iff Craigslist, bargain price. I am running Unraid with Sabnzbd, Sickbeard, Couchpotato, Headphones, Plex server. It works perfectly with the hardware installed that I listed on the first page of this thread.
__________________
Goto Geek for family and friends, yay!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media server HDD'S The Quicken Storage 9 September 12, 2012 11:09 AM
Home Media Server Help PeterSmyth New Builds 6 February 12, 2012 04:37 PM
Folding box and media server MARSTG New Builds 0 January 13, 2012 06:07 PM
htpc media server 99tjadams New Builds 4 November 5, 2009 07:55 PM
media server build? cruisx New Builds 11 April 15, 2009 06:04 PM