Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2013, 11:21 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default Atom 230 and Win7 Pro

How slow is this going to be? The XP Pro install seems to be borked, not really surprising considering how long I've had this system running for.

Atom 230 on Intel D945GCLF mobo
2GB Ram (maxed)
PCI Ati HD2400 256MB
500GB SATA2 HDD (WD Blue)

This system is only used to watch non-HD movies on my TV.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2013, 11:57 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,319

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
How slow is this going to be? The XP Pro install seems to be borked, not really surprising considering how long I've had this system running for.

Atom 230 on Intel D945GCLF mobo
2GB Ram (maxed)
PCI Ati HD2400 256MB
500GB SATA2 HDD (WD Blue)

This system is only used to watch non-HD movies on my TV.
Honestly try windows 8 on it, I had a 330 with 7 that seemed slow but with 8 it was bearable
__________________
Good Bye HWC it was great :)
Site and Forum:
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php

If you need me the link above is where I spend my days now
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2013, 12:09 PM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 255

My System Specs

Default

You might even be happy with Linux Zorin. About as close to windows as it comes and a lot cheaper. Give the live cd a try.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2013, 12:13 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,603

My System Specs

Default

I never found my Atom 230 to be slow running Win 7 at all, though you could see if Win 8 will be gentler to it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2013, 05:47 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 823

My System Specs

Default

i agree with soullessone21, you'll get better mileage out of win8 IMO. never liked win7 on any Atom I have ever used.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2013, 04:53 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I'm gonna try Zorin as howpet suggested and the latest LTS version of Unbuntu which I'm familiar with.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2013, 03:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 220

My System Specs

Default

if you're up for a challenge, you could try Arch linux, it's all about fast and light
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2013, 01:54 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Did you ever get around to testing this?

Reason I'm asking is that I noticed a big difference between XP and win7 32bit on a 2 Gig Atom N270 system. Not sure if it's something to do with win7's media player + Silverlight DRM but using media player I had a slight pause about 20 seconds from the end of every track and wrote it off as being an issue with an underpowered rig pre caching the next track for playback.

Fast forward to today and I've got XP installed on the same system (to sell it on kijiji) and it's not exhibiting the same behavior. If it keeps this up, I just might keep the bloody thing as a media server...... :)

edit: Hrmmmm........ seems like I wasn't the only person having the issue with win7 but that Microsoft decided to remove the thread.....

WMP 12 makes pauses towards the end of each track - Microsoft Community
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; September 13, 2013 at 02:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2013, 07:18 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Testing it became a mute point when I finally decided to upgrade my main system, I'm just going to replace the ATOM with a Q6600, that'll run anything.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IBM Atom movie clshades Off Topic 0 May 1, 2013 05:38 PM
Need to replace my Atom 230... Dr_BenD_over HTPC Systems & Software 3 October 21, 2011 10:38 AM
[FS] M-ITX PC VERY SMALL ATOM 330/945/X1300/2GB/DVD/WIN XP b1lk1 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 April 1, 2011 08:01 PM
New Atom cpu [Anandtech] gingerbee Press Releases & Tech News 0 December 21, 2009 08:06 AM
Up and ATOM Dr_BenD_over Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 17 November 26, 2008 04:43 PM