Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2013, 12:37 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default Anyone here Used Hyper V with remotefx?

I just started to play around with hyperV anmd I read somewhere tha tit can use the main systems videocard buy using remotefx but for some reason I cannot seem to install remotefx and am not sure why that is.
I like to play around with Different OS but the problem is tha tall the virtual machine software I have used has never use my actual videocard . I wanted to experiment and try to install an os and see if I could actually game inside it lol.
my idea is to install the OS then install all of the programs Iwant to use including games and then that way my main system would be safe becasue everything would be done in a virtual enviroment

EDIT
grr just found out that my CPU doesn't support SLAT so it will not work grrr

Last edited by Shadowmeph; August 23, 2013 at 12:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2013, 08:36 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,969

My System Specs

Default

AMD and Intel GPU's typically work, although not 100%. NVIDIA definitely is the hardest to get to work, if at all.

I did have it working back with Server 2008 R2, but haven't had any success with 2012 or 2012 R2.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2013, 02:33 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

hmm I am wondering if I digout load up my opterons2p with server 2012if it will work, it is almost time to start foldering again anyway.. well it is still pretty warm but I can at the very least kill two birds with on stone.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2013, 04:52 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,969

My System Specs

Default

See, my Pentium G2030 shows in Hyper-V running under Server 2012 R2 Preview, and I can add a RemoteFX adapter to my VM, but I don't really see any performance benefit. And I end up with 2 unknown devices in device manager too, so I don't think its truly working.

I believe its because I'm only running Windows 8 Pro VM's, seems it needs to be Enterprise to support RemoteFX.

RemoteFX vGPU Setup and Configuration Guide for Windows Server 2012 - TechNet Articles - United States (English) - TechNet Wiki
Attached Images
 

Last edited by JD; August 24, 2013 at 04:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2013, 07:26 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

But doesn't it also support Video cards as well?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2013, 08:53 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,969

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
But doesn't it also support Video cards as well?
Yeah, AMD cards typically work (from what I've read). I haven't been able to get my NVIDIA cards to work though.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2013, 09:16 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

Cool am going to try it out then
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes