Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2013, 11:03 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Question Wrong Coolbits? Temp info lost, lol

Using old machine with 6800GT card with Forceware Detonators 61.76 WHQ (optimal for this old card, no reason to update at all), I wanted to know more HW info in the nVidia control panel and therefore I put these coolbits registers up:

Code:
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak]
"CoolBits"=dword:0000000f
"NvCplEnableHardwarePage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAGPSettingsPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAdditionalInfoPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableFanControl"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableClearViewPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableOGLAccel"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableSysPerfPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplNvThermPage"=dword:00000001
"NVCplShowTempratureSettings"=dword:00000001
"NvCplResolutionMenu"=dword:00000001
"NvCplThermalSettings"=dword:00000001
"NvCplNvThermPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnablenForcePage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableFrameSyncPage"=dword:00000001
"DisableCPUInfo"=dword:00000000
;"NvCplForceDFPToEvaluateAsLVDS"=dword:00000001
;"NvCplForceMonitorReEnum"=dword:00000001
"DFPAsDefaultMonitor"=dword:00000001
"ShowCustomModes"=dword:00000001
"NvCplCustomResConfig"=dword:00000001
However as soon as I did it, it stop showing me the temperatures at all!


WTF!

I hope someone can tell me, what is wrong with these Coolbits and how can I fix them Please?
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2013, 03:47 PM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Red face

Well, I missing now this information:



That is the point of the whole thread. As soon, as I added these coolbites, I gained some info, but LOST this temperature info
That is my problem.

HWiNFO, GPU-Z and Everest do read the temps, true. But why used 3rd party apps, when it showed up the temps just right? Okay, it did not show the VRM temps as detected by Everest and HWiNFO, but the most important is the GPU core temp and that was shown.

About deleting at least some of them - well, that is probably a good start. I was under the impression that someone should knew already about it.

I gained:
- More Direct3D settings
- Clock Frequencies
- AGP Settings
- Additional Information

I lost:
- Temperature Settings
- Change Resolutions

Weird at least. But it is true, that removing of the:
Code:
"NvCplNvThermPage"=dword:00000001
"NVCplShowTempratureSettings"=dword:00000001
"NvCplResolutionMenu"=dword:00000001
"NvCplThermalSettings"=dword:00000001
...cause the temperature page to reappear as well, as by deleting the resolutions cause reappear the change resolutions settings. I was just toying with it and hoped that someone explain me, that I have too much stuff in the coolbites and I should reduce it...

Oh, well. At least I got this:



...but not really sure if I doing it right... :(
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2013, 12:48 PM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Wink

Tested on oldie, yet recapped and therefore stable hardware - yes, just these four lines is necessary for what I want and the rest give nothing more:

Code:
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak]
"CoolBits"=dword:0000000f
"NvCplEnableHardwarePage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAdditionalInfoPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAGPSettingsPage"=dword:00000001
That is giving me over the standard:
- Clock Frequencies
- AGP Settings
- More Direct3D settings
- Additional Information

...and nothing more I gained (at least on my old cards) with the additional 100x more register settings coolbites presented for example there:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=178061



So the sad fact that on my machine I lost the AGP settings is because my card now run in PCI mode, thanks to the HW problems... :(



...and therefore it CANNOT show the AGP page, when being in PCI mode. That explain the "lost AGP page" for now. Using these coolbites on JetWay V266B with a GeForce 2 show the AGP mode:



So these coolbits are fine and done for me :) Now let's fix the HW...
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real Temp or Core Temp or Ai Suite Jhayman CPU's and Motherboards 11 November 19, 2009 12:11 PM
Something wrong with this picture (Using Real Temp 2.70) appplejack Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 January 8, 2009 05:04 PM
GPU temp is 55 degrees on H20 - something I did wrong? JayDee Water Cooling 5 August 2, 2007 02:33 PM
Coolbits magictorch Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 July 7, 2007 06:38 AM
CPU temp or Core temp? E6420 NOOB Delavan CPU's and Motherboards 18 May 28, 2007 06:07 AM