Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2013, 09:14 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Angry Windows 7 Native DVD Burning?

Ok, I've had it..... :)

Am I the only one on the planet who has multiple win7 PCs with different ODDs who quite simply cannot get the native burning feature to work, but who has absolutely no problem burning with a program like ashampoo?

I fried my USB ODD last night trying to do a firmware update to see if that would address the issue, but it's not hardware specific, I have the exact same issue with every PC in the house.

Is anybody out there actually able to right click on an ISO and get windows to burn it? (or for that matter, burn off a system restore disk?).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2013, 09:24 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

I never use native burning software I have always used imgburn . I could never get the native stuff to work for burning anything. one thing I also know and have no idea why it happens is that when ever I have to burn an OS I always have to set it to burn at the lowest setting know matter which burner ( DVD or CD burner ) I use.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2013, 09:35 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

My success rate with built in windows has been flaky at best.

ImgBurn is pretty much my goto as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2013, 09:39 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

AFAIK this wasn't an issue in early releases of win7, I'm going to guess it was SP1 that broke it. I can live with using a freeware burner for ISOs, but I wanted to burn a system disk to use windows native backup but can't because it keeps erroring out. Maybe it's my media..... (just used the last one of these so maybe a new brand will do the trick).

What's the current state of DVD +R vrs -R? Does that make any difference at all, or are they even still producing the two formats?

This is the error I'm getting......

Quote:
The disc image didn't burn successfully because an error occurred. The device failed to accept the command within the timeout period. This may be caused by the device having entered an inconsistent state, or the timeout value for the command may need to be increased. (Error code 0xC0AA020D).
You'd think if it was a simple timeout issue that they'd have a quick hotpatch to increase the value.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; August 6, 2013 at 09:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2013, 09:53 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

I've never had the best success using the native burning 'software' provided, I typically have PowerISO installed so I tend to use that instead.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2013, 10:16 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

So why is it still included as a feature if it doesn't work? Does it work in windows 8?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2013, 10:17 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
AFAIK this wasn't an issue in early releases of win7, I'm going to guess it was SP1 that broke it. I can live with using a freeware burner for ISOs, but I wanted to burn a system disk to use windows native backup but can't because it keeps erroring out. Maybe it's my media..... (just used the last one of these so maybe a new brand will do the trick).

What's the current state of DVD +R vrs -R? Does that make any difference at all, or are they even still producing the two formats?

This is the error I'm getting......



You'd think if it was a simple timeout issue that they'd have a quick hotpatch to increase the value.
I do dknow that the + _ R do have some influence but I actually don't remember which is the better to use for Software and not media. I usually just use a pendrive now
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2013, 12:04 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 741
Default

My personal experience, not exactly relating to native DVD burning, is that Daemon tools actually mess up ISOburner. It would all come out with errors until I switched over the Astroburn. So if you have some kind of ISO mounting software, it may mess up the native disk burning in Windows 7.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2013, 12:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moocow View Post
My personal experience, not exactly relating to native DVD burning, is that Daemon tools actually mess up ISOburner. It would all come out with errors until I switched over the Astroburn. So if you have some kind of ISO mounting software, it may mess up the native disk burning in Windows 7.
Initially that's the way I was leaning because I couldn't imagine MS keeping a "feature" around if it always errored out. The latest instance of this though was on a completely fresh install using one of their own programs (windows backup) to initiate a burn which failed.

Well.... that's 4 definite "doesn't work" and no "it works fine for me"... how can they leave an issue like this unresolved?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2013, 02:14 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I have encountered this exact same problem while trying to burn windows backup from a clean install to a disc as well. It always failed unexpectedly hence why I abandoned windows for my backups.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB 3.0 Hub that works with Windows 8 native drivers? frontier204 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 February 16, 2013 06:50 AM
Max # of cores on native linux client? Rison HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 June 3, 2010 10:06 AM
Anyone run native Linux F@H clients? lowfat HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 January 20, 2010 03:27 PM
Native DDR2 1066 Support kING4000 CPU's and Motherboards 2 October 26, 2007 11:45 PM
Hybrid vs. Native Dual x16 SLI: Asus vs. Abit r00tman Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 6, 2007 12:08 AM